We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice if you're going to a gig” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Manchester Central Arena to your Saves list
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Coruna, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great choice if you're going to a gig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for just one night to attend the McBusted show. It is located only 2 minutes away from the arena and 5 minutes away from the city centre. If you reach Manchester by train (as we did) I'd recommend getting a taxi as the city centre is really busy. Our room was spacious and clean and the bed was really comfortable. The hotel was crowded of people going to the concert so the corridors were quite noisy but the rooms seemed to be soundproof as we had no problem to sleep. The staff at the reception were very kind.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    223
    82
    24
    16
See reviews for
89
249
33
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a great location 5 minutes from the train station and just set back from the busyness of the centre. The room was basic but well maintained and had all the essentials. One slight disadvantage is that the hotel is unable to offer anywhere to store baggage for an hour or so after check-out so if you're thinking of lunch in the city before heading home, cases/bags have to follow. I would highly recommend this hotel and you really cannot grumble at the value for money here!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I came with a group of girls for a hen night - either someones sat nav wasn't working or the postcode is wrong as it took us ages to find the place. Check in and room OK but then went down the bar for a drink but no on was there to serve us. I asked at reception and 1 poor bloke was trying to check-in a queue of people as well as work behind the bar at the same time. In the end we just drank our own drinks, and would have ordered food but there was no one there to ask so didn't bother. Lost out on some cash there! However, I will say not far to the nightlife (once you knew which way to go!), comfy nights sleep and the breakfast was much better than expected. Breakfast staff very attentive. Would probably go there again, especially if going to the arena.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Not been a fan of Travelodge, previously, but this one is quite new, so room was ok, but basic. Location 15 minute walk to "Printworks". Its a fair option if your looking for basic accommodation. The bar is good, open 24 hours,if thats an attraction, did not test it personally. Did not use cafe so can't commment. Big let down for me was lack of air con in room, it was a hot day, (YES I KNOW IT WAS MANCHESTER)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

When we arrived to check in, nearing 4pm, we were told the accessible room we'd booked was unavailable as some were 'out of order' and others had already been allocated to other guests. The receptionist did his utmost to help us by showing us other rooms to see what would be most suitable for a wheelchair. He was extremely friendly and apologetic, always asking us if we were okay when we bumped into him during our stay, but this does not excuse for the massive mistake that had been made. Particularly as my partner noticed a large group of males staying in the accessible room across from us, who had no obvious need to be there. We had travelled over 250 miles that day and so could not have arrived at the hotel any faster to ensure we got allocated the correct room. It would've been interesting to see how it would have been dealt with had that room been absolutely necessary to us...

However, all that aside, this was a decent hotel, perfectly clean and quiet. It was only a short 5/10 minute walk to the city centre which is much less than we were expecting, and was very easy to find. Cannot comment on the breakfast/dinner as we did not eat at the hotel once due to being out and about doing other things.

Overall, we had a lovely stay here but I feel it is important that the mistake that was made is noted to ensure it does not happen again to other guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North devon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A clean modern travelodge which is well positioned for the Arena and the main shopping area. Staff are friendly and there is ample parking next to the hotel on the old Boddingtons brewery site at £3.50 per day.

Locationwise, although you are within walking distance of many Manchester attractions its immediate surroundings aren't quite so great. Whilst Manchester has changed hugely in the last 20-30 years this area has been left behind. To the North you have Strangeways prison and to the south you have the very busy Manchester and Salford ringroad.

All in all though its basic but for under £50 a night ticks all the right boxes. Breakfast surpisingly edible too which you wouldnt expect. recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel whilst we were going to a gig. I have a head condition which requires me to carry oxygen cylinders for treatment purposes. When the company arrived with the o2, the duty manager said they would not accept the o2 due to health and safety (bare in mind i am classified as disabled and this woman was preventing me from using treatment for my disability). She was rude and spoke to myself and the o2 delivery man like we were a huge inconvenience to her. In the end, another receptionist had to sign for the o2 (thank goodness). (A word of warning, if you try and check-in before 3pm, even if your room is ready, you will be charged £10). As for the hotel, there was only 1 member of staff on the reception who had to work between reception and the bar (between 3-5 busiest times due to check-in). There were queues 20 minutes long at the bar for a drink. The room was okay, nothing special - I found a hair in the shower. There was no hair dryer provided in the room, so I had to ask at reception. They took my room number and put it against the hair dryer number so I couldnt steal it (as if I would?!). There was also no phone, nor information booklet in the room. And finally, the number provided to contact the hotel is an automated switchboard number which charges 10p a minute. Overall, with the experience of discrimination (on 2 occasions), the lack of ameneties, uncleanliness of the shower...I definitely won't be returning any time soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Address: Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#25 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.