We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Manchester Central Arena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 117 hotels in Manchester
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not too shabby!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for Grillstock held in Albert Square. Parking right next door charged £7 for an overnight stay, great value for a city location. We had booked an early check-in (from 12) but misjudged traffice etc and arrived in Manchester for 10. Went into Travelodge to see if we could drop our bags but were told our room was available and were checked in straight away. Bonus! The staff were excellent, really welcoming and helpful. Room was spotless, no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast the next morning was really good value - all you could eat - bacon, scrambled egg, beans and sausages on hot buffet, toast, croissants (warmed if you wanted), muffins, cereals, yoghurts, juice and hot drinks for £7 odd. Only an approximate 5 minute walk away from the Arndale and Printworks. Will be returning, wouldn't stay anywhere else now!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    103
    43
    11
    9
See reviews for
46
121
20
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we arrived we found that we'd been double booked. Had to prove via e- mail that we'd booked. Got a room 40 mins later. Which left us no time to have a meal before our concert. We arrived back from the concert and ordered food ( which was advertised) to be told that we could not have anything. And were advised by the same member of staff that we should take a 10 min walk into town. Bearing in mind my sister is 6 months pregnant & he expected us to walk the streets of the city at that time of night. We ordered a pizza delivery from outside. & low & behold my sister witnessed 2 girls walk into the hotel & order food !!!!!! Upset & furious were the words !!!!! Unbelievable - & felt very let down indeed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel was in very convenient location for phones4u arena, just a few minutes walk down road, good car park at rear-not travel lodge car park but only £6 for arena parking or 3.50 other days-good value, hotel seems very quiet during our stay, new double beds were very comfy, good pillows, we had booked twin room but couldnt use single as it seems to be broken, sloping away on one side, didnt really bother us as mum and daughter we just used the double, room was very hot and stuffy , this seems to be a something we find across all travel lodges we have used, When we arrived early evening the hot water was barely warm but ok next morning. breakfast had good choice but hot food was on slightly warm so didnt taste so good, long queue to toast bread and that toaster didnt really toast it just warmed it, However all in all it was good value for money as we only wanted a convenient base to the arena for one night,and we would book again for the location . used rail to get to Manchester, fairly cheap to get taxi from main station but following morning we walked back only took about 20 mins.good bars/restaurants within few mins walk as was local spar shop

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i have stayed in a few travelodges now and I have only been disappointed by one. This is not one of them. They were happy to let my friend stay last minute with no extra charge, the room was sparkling clean (noted by friend who runs a b&b). Flat screen TV, tea and coffee. Quiet part of town, even though it is on a main road and not too far from the centre. No negatives at all. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for the Robbie Williams concert at the arena. Excellent location for the Phones4U arena. The male receptionist was distracted the whole time he dealt with us even though there was no one else waiting. Didn't bother looking directly at us throughout the conversation. Room was very clean and excellent for a base to tour Manchester. One thing to note Travelodge website says that car park next to hotel is £6 a night. Because there was an event on (which obviously will be most nights and the reason you would be staying there) the actual cost to stay over night was £9.50. Wasn't that much of a disappointment however could be a surprise if you hadn't of budgeted for it. Great nights sleep and fully refreshed the following morning. Will stay here the next time we need to go to Manchester.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hiya Folks
Stayed here for the Robbie Williams concert. The lodge was extremely busy. The guy on reception was rushed off his feet but dealt with everyone as quick as he could ( A Top Bloke ). Rooms very clean we were on the 4th floor and it was pretty quiet the lodge overall looked like it had had a major refit everything looked brand new. Had breakfast there in the morning, staff again were spot on food was a good buffet style service. the tables were kept clean and tidy
great value I would recommend and stop there again
well done travelodge! !!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here twice this year (once in March and the other in May 2014) and on both occasions found the hotel to be of an excellent standard and the staff very polite and helpful. The rooms are smart, tidy and well kept. I think some people would find them soulless but to be honest if you're staying for a weekend in Manchester and just need a place to base yourself and have a good nights sleep then this would work for you.
There is a large open air car park next door, which also serves as the main car park for the MEN arena, so be wary of travel times as parking could be a bit tight.
The food was good and the service excellent, so no complaints there.
As others have said it's a bit loud, both with younger guests and being right next to a main road but again the hotel is well built and tidy that you don't really notice it.

Overall very acceptable and comes recommended.

Room Tip: Try and be on the far side, away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Address: Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#19 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.