We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Manchester Central Arena to your Saves list
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very clean comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

As a fan of the other similar chain of hotels. I was a little apprehensive about booking a travelodge as previous stays in other hotels have been very basic. However, we were very pleased with our room here, you can tell that the hotel is still quite new. The rooms were fresh and a decent size. The location of the hotel is also very good. Just a five min walk from the printworks area of the city and two mins from the arena. Would definitely recommend if attending an gigs or events at the arena. We would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    161
    60
    22
    12
See reviews for
64
170
28
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I recently stayed here with a friend after watching Miranda at the MEN. I wouldn't stay at the hotel again. The room as you would expect was basic but at nearly £100 for the night you'd at least expect a hairdryer in you room, defiantly not here!!!
When we checked in we had been allocated an 'accessible' but neither me or my friend are disabled. We waited 20 minutes for the front desk person to be available to deal with us (slow service with 4 people queuing in front of us) he stated that was the only room available but would try to change us, he advised us to go to our room and he would come and find us in 5 minutes. 45 minutes later still not sign off him. When we returned to the front desk, he said 'oops I forgot about you' not a great start.
When then asked to borrow a hair dryer. A travel hair dryer arrived after 15 minutes of us waiting at the front desk. The hair dryer was broke when we tried to use it.
To complete our stay a used razor was left in the bathroom, on the side of the shower chair. Clearly rooms aren't cleaned well here!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for one night as we were going to watch a comedian at the Phones4U Arena. This was the perfect place for us to stay as it was literally 2 minutes walk away from the Arena, probably about 5 minutes walk in to town and probably about 15 minute walk to Piccadily train station (although Victoria train station is only 2 minutes away).

The bed was comfy, clean hotel and clean room. Has a tv, coffee/tea making facilities, shower in the en-suite bathroom etc. We decided to pay for a breakfast for in the morning when we arrived and glad we did. Unlimited breakfast - sausages, eggs, toast, beans, crossiants, cereals, juice etc. The hotel has its own bar as well.

Disadvantages: Had to pay an extra £10 to check-in early as didn't want to carry a big bag round Manchester all day as they don't have a room to store bags and we had arrived early. Also, we were worried the hotel was going to be quite noisy at night however it was fine apart from another person staying in the hotel banging on our door at 2:30am.

Apart from that we would stay again - in fact we have booked again! This hotel is perfect for short stays in the city centre - book early and normally it is relatively cheap for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here as we were going to a gig at the MEN, which is a 2 minute walk away so very handy. Really friendly an helpful bar and reception staff. Comfy bed, clean bathroom, no noise at night in the hotel. Well decorated and furnished. 2 mins from victoria station and MEN arena, further 10 min walk into town. Great price, I booked early and got a room for 24 pounds! Great Travelodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for one night as it is opposite the Phones 4 U arena (MEN) so brilliant position for those visiting there. Check in was a little late but good room and lovely breakfast. Would stay there again. Good for price, bar prices are expensive though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Excellent situation, affordable, easy affordable parking, clean, modern, friendly.
Breakfast every thing you can eat, for £7.95.
Better than any posh hotel.
Provide a bar with food and drink all day.
Definitely use the travelodge again


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

For spending a night in Manchester this hotel is great for location, just being minutes away from Victoria station and the MEN arena - though not so great if you're going to be on the other side of the city centre. Also, the Boddington car park right next door is also really handy - £3.50 a day, shame it's not 24 hour tickets instead.

As for the hotel I'm a bit disappointed for the quality. Paying £53 for a night I'd expect a bit more out of it. I requested to be on a higher floor, personal preference, which has normally been okay but the water pressure here was ridiculously bad, both from the tap and shower head. I can only imagine being on the top floor is what caused the issue, otherwise I'd be pretty disappointed. On top of that, the shower temperature was quite hot and refused to change regardless of how it was set. There was no hairdryer in the room, which you can get from reception desk but it does mean having to go to the desk yourself, as there's no other way to ask for one.

I think it's good Travelodge are trying revamp and redecorating their hotels, but I don't think they've done it in a great way. Poor lighting, small bathroom and yet again the mirror is so far away from any plug socket it makes it even more pointless having it there.

On the brightside, the bed was comfy! I'd consider staying here again only if a room was available at a much cheaper price. If you're finding it at a similar price I'd recommend trying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try a lower floor - quicker to get to reception for anything and hopefully better water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Address: Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#16 Family Hotel in Manchester
#33 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.