We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised, would definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Manchester Central Arena to your Saves list
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised, would definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here as I was visiting manchester overnight. Check in was nice and easy,there is a check in booth but there are staff to help as well. The room is small but has everything you need including tea and coffee facilities. Beds were nice and comfortable and we had no noise issues. Felt very secure as you need your room key to access anywhere beyond reception. We ordered the breakfast online which is great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    224
    82
    24
    17
See reviews for
90
250
34
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Me&my sister stayed here the night when we came to see beyonce in concert.the room was basic but clean with everything we needed for a 1night stay!had a very good night sleep!will probably stay here again for any future concert dates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

only spent one night here but certainly go back. It was easy to check in we booked 5 rooms but all 5 was spread out so we asked to change and they did right away. all staff were nice and helpful. our rooms nice and clean with a new comfortable bed. breakfast was buffet style with loads of choice . it was close to everything but do beware if you get a taxi tend to take you the longest way round for double the price we was ripped off twice this way . we ordered two taxis the each time one was charge the right price but ours was double so be aware. overall had a lovely time here.

Room Tip: double rooms are the same price has a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent position close to the heart of things. The room had been given a few touches which made it a lot less spartan - blue wall, picture and bed throw plus new comfortable mattress. Staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of the better Travelodges, The bed upgrade is a real winner, bringing Travelodge up to a par with much more expensive hotels.
The location is ideal for Arena and Deansgate.
We booked 5 rooms in November '12 for our May '13 stay this meant 3 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend for £67 compared to £220 if booked last month.
No issue with over-booking / availability as mentioned on other reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking back of hotel. the front has road noise, the middle overlooks the smokers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel might be good, but sadly we never found out - please read the following which could well happen to you unless changes are made to the way this company operates:

Booked and paid for our room in January - we were phoned the night before to confirm we were coming (which I thought was unusual...) - after a long day out we came to check in at 2100-ish to be told there were no rooms.... the best they could offer us was a room in Bolton - almost as far away as going back home!

Comments from staff: "It happens all the time" "This happens every weekend" - while we were there, a large family who had booked 3 rooms were told that the only solution for them was one room at this hotel and 2 at Manchester Airport.

It seems like we were the start of the problem and there were many more people due to be disappointed this evening.

I can only think on this occasion the reason the hotel was so overbooked was that with the magic weekend and the manchester 10k, demand far outweighed supply and travelodge deliberately overbooked perhaps on the basis that they would make more money from other people than the £59 we paid in January. I know 'mistakes happen' which might lead to one or two rooms being overbooked for whatever reason but surely a product we had paid for in January should be set to one side for us, even if we don't turn up - not deliberately sold again!

We insisted that we be refunded, had taxis paid for and had free breakfast and if this happens to you, do the same as a minimum.

We have stayed frequently at various travelodges in the past - we know what to expect and have stayed in some good ones and bad ones but they have always delivered the basic standard promised. This incident has destroyed my confidence in them in one hit - we have another two stays booked later this year and I have no faith at all that I won't turn up to be offered a refund or moved to another hotel miles away.

By the way, the travelodge at Bolton was good - but I am considering cancelling my forthcoming bookings and finding a chain I can trust. I know airlines overbook and perhaps I can see some sense in that - but hotels?? Maybe I am naive.

Zero stars - disgusting treatment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from customer Care at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Karl K, we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had. We would like to discuss with you what happened in more detail and try to rectify the handling of the situation which has fallen below our expectations. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and use the Contact us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Spent the night for a friends hen do for the price the rooms were great! Very clean and spacious with all the usual tea, coffee etc. One thing I was hoping for in the room was a trouser press for my dress but it wasn't much of an issue. Very sound sleep comfy bed woke up feeling as fresh as you possibly can after a night in Manchester! Only let down was the breakfast no fried eggs =( and the ridiculous amount of kids running round and stacking their plates up with food that they didn't eat! I know that couldn't be helped though we blame One Direction for that! Great value for money and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from customer Care at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for your review Gen10500, it’s really good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst we may not provide a trouser press, we do offer irons which can be obtained free of charge from reception at anytime, subject to availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Address: Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#25 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.