We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Junction

Sugar Junction
60 Tib Street, Manchester M4 1LG, England
0161 839 1444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've been before and had a great time, and so did friends recently for the afternoon tea they do, but alas when i visited yesterday with my husband and brother just for a drink it left the boys wondering what I had been going on about. We eventually got some seats, and had to go looking for a waitress to get a menu after we had been sat down a few minutes, and then it took forever to take our order and then for it to arrive. My hot chocolate was cold and my brother's milkshake just wasn't nice at all he said- tasted of just crushed ice really. Very disappointing as a great setting, and reviews are so good...every place can have an off day of course, but when there's so much choice in Manchester, and we asked for so little and 2 out of 3 of us not impressed, it makes me reluctant to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephToope, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello,

Thank you Davorla for taking the time to write your review.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your first visit but its a shame to hear that you didn't enjoy your repeat visit. With something such as a cold hot chocolate we could have just given you another hot one if you had let us know on the check back.

Our milkshakes are made with Penelopes ice cream and full fat milk (all the goodness) so I am not sure how the milkshake could have tasted of crushed ice.

We do take a lot of pride in everything that we do and I would love to welcome you back for a complimentary cake platter?

Just contact us via email and we can book you in. Bring your brother too and we will make sure he gets a proper milkshake

Thank you

Team SJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    54
    40
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Vintage heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Visited this place last month on a Saturday afternoon with the hubby. Although there was a wait for a table, the waitress kept us updated regularly and gave us menus to look at. We decided to go for the afternoon tea option as we noticed a big party next to us had it and it looked lovely! We were not disappointed, the cakes were delicious and homemade, the northern quarter tea was to die for (we even took a bag home) and the service was unobtrusive and very friendly.., would recommend to any fellow vintage enthusiast!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephToope, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review!

We totally agree with you, the Northern Quarter Tea is fab!

Please feel free to come back and enjoy our offering again soon.

Thank you

Team SJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Go out of your way to stop at this little gem! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had tea and cake on a weekday afternoon.

- Wonderful selection of interesting and good quality teas (and coffees & milkshakes!).
- Generous portions of moist, very tasty home made cake with lots of different flavours to choose from. Staff were more than happy to put what we couldn't eat in a pretty box to take away.
- Multiple dairy AND gluten free options which tasted divine!!!
- Pretty vintage decor.
- Helpful happy staff.
- Lovely friendly environment & atmosphere.

You can tell that a lot of love has gone into and continues to go into this little gem.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephToope, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We sell Gluten & Dairy free cakes on a daily basis and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed them so much!

Thank you again for your wonderful feedback - makes it all worth wile!

Thank you

Team SJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great atmosphere, friendly staff. Had some nice prosecco and tea and cake and whiled away the afternoon!

Andrew

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephToope, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you Andrew!

All feedback is always welcome and what better way to spend an afternoon!

Thank you

Team SJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!! A real gem! Cocktails a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having heard all the buzz around this place, we booked a table for Saturday evening. We went there to sample there new evening cocktail Menu which was truly amazing. It came out on a beautiful plate with ice cream, alcoholic jelly and edible flowers. A excellent talking point as we all had a different cocktail. The cake is to die for! Staff are great and very attentive. I'll be sure to come back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephToope, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are chuffed that you enjoyed your cocktails and hope that you will come back and join us soon.

Nothing like a bit of cake with a cocktail!

Thank you

Team SJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Junction also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sugar Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.