We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Junction

Sugar Junction
60 Tib Street, Manchester M4 1LG, England
0161 839 1444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 1,642 restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just lovely :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely lovely, lovely setting with attentive staff. I went today with my two sisters we had a cake platter each and tea. Before that we shared a haloumi sandwich with hummus which was lovely. The cakes we had were just to die for. We ordered too much but they gave us bags to take away. The staff were friendly and despite being so busy that they were turning people away, they still offered to refill our tea pot which made us feel looked after. I would deffinately go again but make sure you book. We were lucky :) I reccomend the nerd cake!!! Popping candy and sprinkles galore!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Manager at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review on Sugar Junction! Customer feedback is extremely important to us and we are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We always try our very hardest to ensure our customers have a nice time when visiting us and we hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    157
    44
    33
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Only fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Visited this cafe after reading the reviews, they seemed very impressive . It really did not live up to the reviews, are the cakes freshly made? Are they bought from a bakers, or home -made? I asked for more tea and the pot was filled with hot water, but the tea leaves were in my strainer. I was not happy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sugar Junction. We are really disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to our tea room. Our cakes are all homemade by Myself and My Daughter who own the tea room. With regards to your teapot refill. We do offer a free top up of hot water for your pot, however if you would like a fresh pot of tea of course we are more than happy to do this for you. Some of our leaf teas are finer than others and tend to pour into the strainer more freely, I am sorry this seems to have been the case here. We do hope you will come back and give us another try and sample another of our home made cakes. Many thanks Sue and Cheryl Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sweet as sugar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

OMG ! I've now found my idea of sweet heaven .
Had the pleasure of Sugar Junction just before Christmas, a lovely Sunday afternoon with friends .
As soon as we arrived , warm friendly smiles from the staff who all looked like pin ups from the 1940/50s, stunning I must say !
We were taken downstairs as our party was of larger size, to beautifully laid out tables with china cups and saucers awaiting us.
Felt at home and very cosy indeed .
We all had the sandwiches , cakes and gorgeous tea (manchester tea) , well and truly scrummy.
Well worth a visit as I know you will be over the moon with this little haven on tib st , I surely was and cant wait to go back and try more teas and have first class service

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such lovely things about our tea room, we are absolutely over the moon to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Sugar Junction in the very near future. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely find thanks again to trip advisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely little tea rooms, amazing sandwiches with great fresh ingredients! Didn't try te cakes but will definitely be back to try them! Staff all friendly and polite xx

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to review Sugar Junction we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us. Please do pop in again and sample one of our home made cakes we would love to see you. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A group of 6 of us went for afternoon tea last Saturday. We were expecting great things having read the Trip Advisor reviews, and certainly weren't disappointed.
The first thing we noticed was that the place was very busy and people were queueing for a table.
As we had booked, a big table had been reserved for us downstairs. It was quieter downstairs and lovely to be away from the hustle and bustle.
Afternoon tea consisted of a good choice of tea available to order, substantial and tasty sanwiches, and a great choice of cakes including macaroons, bakewell tarts and massive fondant fancies. Plus the scones were huge!
One of our party had the dairy free afternoon tea, which looked really nice also.
Glad I didn't have lunch beforehand, but still couldn't eat everything, so we had it boxed up to take home.
Everything was really tasty, service was great, I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Wow thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit to Sugar Junction, we are over the moon to read that you all enjoyed your Afternoon Tea, we try our very best to offer the highest quality food along side great customer service so it is always fantastic to hear such positive feedback. We really do hope you will come back and visit us soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Junction also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sugar Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.