We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Junction

Sugar Junction
60 Tib Street, Manchester M4 1LG, England
0161 839 1444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 78 Coffee & Tea in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A group of 6 of us went for afternoon tea last Saturday. We were expecting great things having read the Trip Advisor reviews, and certainly weren't disappointed.
The first thing we noticed was that the place was very busy and people were queueing for a table.
As we had booked, a big table had been reserved for us downstairs. It was quieter downstairs and lovely to be away from the hustle and bustle.
Afternoon tea consisted of a good choice of tea available to order, substantial and tasty sanwiches, and a great choice of cakes including macaroons, bakewell tarts and massive fondant fancies. Plus the scones were huge!
One of our party had the dairy free afternoon tea, which looked really nice also.
Glad I didn't have lunch beforehand, but still couldn't eat everything, so we had it boxed up to take home.
Everything was really tasty, service was great, I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Wow thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit to Sugar Junction, we are over the moon to read that you all enjoyed your Afternoon Tea, we try our very best to offer the highest quality food along side great customer service so it is always fantastic to hear such positive feedback. We really do hope you will come back and visit us soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    72
    40
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had afternoon tea here today, with cakes and sandwiches. The cafe is nicely decorated, and the staff dressed in what I think is a forties way. Not what you expect to find in central manchester.The food, though, was delicious. The cakes were very tasty, the scones in particular being very light and scrumptious.. The service was very good, and the waitresses were friendly and polite. The people on another table were having a tuna melt of immense proportions, that I would like to go back and try myself. Very well situated for anyone on a shopping trip, as I was.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so so much for taking time out from your day to write such lovely words about your visit to Sugar Junction, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our tearooms. Our scones are indeed a firm favourite with our customers and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed them. Please do come back and visit us soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went here for breakfast over the weekend and whilst it was nice, I don't think it was anything to rave about. Staff were friendly and food was nice, worth a visit if nearby.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing tea shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We visited Sugar Junction today, we had a multi-national party of 9 including people from UK, Canada and Philippines hoping to show them a piece of Great British food.
I can honestly say that this unique place delivered. I had a 'hearty' soup and sandwich, which was a massive portion of Tomato soup and a ham & apple chutney sandwich on the most amazing brown bread which I thought was good value at £8.
We then had the cake platters to share (3 smaller slices of cake) which was the perfect way to finish our lunch.
The atmosphere was so lovely, and the china cups and saucers were beautiful. Great service too, can't wait to go again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“"delightful"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

just returned from lunch at the" Sugar Junction" had a fab time, food outstanding,service great and overall experience fantastic. Will definately be returning and telling friends!!!
Neil and Mark

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Junction also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sugar Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.