We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose Garden

The Rose Garden
218 Burton Road | West Didsbury, Manchester M20 2LW, England
0161 478 0747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: New to West Didsbury’s Burton Road, The Rose Garden serves exciting contemporary British food created by owner and head Chef William Mills. It’s very much a family affair — William’s elder Brother Tom constructed the interior to a design created by their architect father, the restaurant’s striking visual appeal is complemented by professional but informal table service from William’s younger siblings.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great service. Good food with some interesting flavours. Smoked duck and pâté was glorious texture. Chicken extremely tasty with lovely juice and nice touch of tortellini. The scallops were overlooked and rubbery but this was the only downside of an otherwise glorious food experience. Service friendly and gracious and feedback communicated to the chef about the scallops. Pricey if you have lots of extras and are greedy! Would recommend. Pub opposite is loud noisy and impossible to get served so would caution going for either pre or post drink!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    70
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant for the first time last night. It has a simple, contemporary, bright interior and a very lively atmosphere; full on a Monday night. The food was superb with top class ingredients, the perfect balance of textures and flavours, but with some fascinating twists and interesting additions. The staff were efficient and friendly and It is incredible value for money.Will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow UK
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Greatest discovery in Manchester vicinity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Exceptional set menu (4 starters, 7 mains, 5 desserts of which our party of 6 tried 70%) costing a mere £18 gave much delight without any criticism. Waiting staff exceptionally knowledgeable and helpful, speed not a problem considering the high quality of the food. Even the wines are acceptably priced (just) - but I wish they could be given less pretentious descriptions. Parking at night can be difficult - try the cul-de-sacs nearby, they sometimes have spaces.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Friends recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed. Our children were with grandparents so we made the most of our afternoon and had a couple of drinks in nearby bars before going for the early bird offer at 6pm last Thursday. We ended up having 3 courses as the food was so good. I don't eat meat but this was not limiting. The service was friendly, helpful and not at all over-bearing. We will definitely go back and probably end up having 3 courses again! Not at all pretentious and the early bird is excellent value, we didn't need to buy extra sides. Would definitely recommend this to veggies, meat eaters and fish lovers alike.
Had a lovely evening, thanks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great value set menu and the nicest staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We dined here on a Sunday afternoon for my boyfriend's birthday with his family, on the 3 course set menu.

The choice of food was brilliant and it didn't feel too limited as set menus often can. The food was really tasty and very well cooked with the finest ingredients. The set menu is exceptionally good value for money. The wine menu was good and also reasonably priced.

The staff had a good knowledge of the food and the menu. They were extremely nice, attentive and helpful. They even put a little candle in my boyfriend's dessert without us having to mention his birthday. They added to how nice the overall experience was.

The restaurant is very trendy and modern but has a really nice atmosphere and does not feel too clinical. Whilst it is clean, bright and airy, it still feels warm and intimate.

I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone dining with friends, family and special occasions. We had a great time!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose Garden also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.