We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La vie en rose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose Garden

The Rose Garden
218 Burton Road | West Didsbury, Manchester M20 2LW, England
0161 478 0747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: New to West Didsbury’s Burton Road, The Rose Garden serves exciting contemporary British food created by owner and head Chef William Mills. It’s very much a family affair — William’s elder Brother Tom constructed the interior to a design created by their architect father, the restaurant’s striking visual appeal is complemented by professional but informal table service from William’s younger siblings.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“La vie en rose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time my partner and I have dined at the Rose Garden. It is one of the really outstanding restaurants that balances creative and flavoursome food with modern and sleek surroundings.

The icing on the cake was the lovely little miniature jammy dodger and Jaffa cakes that accompanied our finishing teas.

We live an hour away and the miles travelled are well worth the fantastic dining experience.

Really lovely.

Back soon.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    78
    27
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“'We'll pass your comments on to the manager'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a disappointing meal here and told the waitress, as she asked how we were enjoying the meal, that the halibut (extra charge on the fixed price menu) was overcooked and quite leathery. @I'll pass your comments on to the manager' was the only comment. It did not make me feel like trying again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Manchesters Best Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I love this restaurant! I have been here four times now and am thinking of excuses to go again! The service is excallent, the atmosphere is so relaxing and the food is AMAZING!

Have the egg and soilders for desert and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having wanted to visit this place for some time, we finally found the oportunity. Given the high expectations and long anticipation, we werent dissapointed. The service was very friendly, and well timed.

This place really is a gem in west didsbury, it's relatively small size is also very attractive. My only suggestion would be to address the decor - the clinical appearance didnt sit well with me - i would have this down as my persanal top restaurant if the ambience was a little softer.

Nevertheless, the food here is superb and i recommend it to all my friends.

If you can, avoid taking a car - it's on street parking and you'll be hard pushed to find a space anywhere near.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oloron-Sainte-Marie, France
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently visited this restaurant for Sunday Lunch and we were very impressed . The restaurant is small and comfortable - light and minimalistic. The service from the front of house was excellent - very good knowledge of the menu - good advice on wine and friendly and efficient
service - but not as is too often the case these days - over bearing and intrusive. The food was
wonderful - very fresh - well cooked and it seemed mainly locally sourced. The other big issue was value for money - all three courses which were all ample and delicious for about 16/17 pound I think. The wine was also quite resonably priced . An excellent restaurant - I just hope they stick to the current formula and do not grow too fast as so many success stories do . We are looking forward to dinner at the Rose Garden next time we are in Manchester .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose Garden also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.