We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isis

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Isis
390 Bolton Rd. | Pendlebury, Swinton, Manchester, England
+44 161 281 2222 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #657 of 1,763 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good food and lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Lunched here on Wednesday of this week. It was for a funeral buffet. The staff were lovely- taking our coats,providing hot water( as I don't do tea or coffee) and hot chocolate 'made to order'.
The Buffett was excellent. Fresh salad leaves, mozzarella and tomatoes, rice, fab ribs and a good selection of very tasty pizzas and cheesy garlic breads plus a cold meat selection. From my experience on this occasion, I wouldn't hesitate to try this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    2
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swinton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked a family meal on New Year's Eve and although thought £65 expensive for 3 courses thought it would be nice to spend NYE together with family. Our table was situated in the ice bar which is on the opposite side to the main dining room. As a consequence we could neither see or hear any form of entertainment that was taking place in the main dining room. There was a party atmosphere in there and we definitely we're not made to feel part of this.
I felt this so disappointed with the whole night in general and actually left the restaurant at 23.15 and spent midnight at home.
I have emailed the restaurant twice now to get some kind of response but have heard nothing. Will NOT be visiting this restaurant ever again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Should have ordered a take away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We went there in December for lunch and were so disappointed that the food all appeared to be bought in and either from a freezer or tin. It was full of diners but we ended up sending both courses back and left without having actually having eaten anything.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Anaversry meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The starter was meat balls very good wife's pate was excellent . Maine sirloin steak lovely ,wife's meal veal good sauce nice veal .cheese cake tasty .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't ever seem to get an order right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Love the pasta & pizza dishes however I stay away from the meat and fish dishes as they come with veg that's often not cooked very well. I don't mean that they are soggy or anything like that just that they are edible but nothing special. I expect a good selection of vegetables from an Italian style restaurant.
Would recommend the chocolate Selba for desert. It's fabulous.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isis also viewed

 

Been to Isis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.