We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lost Dene

The Lost Dene
144 Deansgate, Manchester M3 3EE, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #801 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This used to be a great bar but has gone downhill. My wife nearly cut herself on a damaged glass, no apology. I sent them an email to complain and got a very curt reply.
Wrong measures, sat in the dark during an electrical test and was'nt even warned. expected to eat in the dark. The complaints are endless...... go somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    7
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went here on a sunday afternoon to have a beer, some food and watch some football. The service was good, never had to wait long at the bar and the food was served very quickly after we ordered. Nice athmosphere for watching football and the food we chose was really nice, typical pub food. Nice place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing atmospher, cheap booze and food too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I found my visit to the lost dene thoroughly enjoyable! 2 meals for £6.95 and bottles of wine fom £6.. You can't go wrong! Me and my partner went on a match day and the atmosphere was brilliant! This pub is definitely worth a visit if you're out in the centre of town!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The best pub in Manchester by miles.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Had some of the best times at the Hogs Head so was worried when it changed name and had a refurb.
Thankfully nothing has changed, the food is great (especially the Burnley Fajita), the beer is reasonably priced and the atmosphere during football is second to none.
I have watched 3 cup finals in here, countless England games, we saw a man who looked like Dave's dad fall down the stairs, Mike Davies was told off for wearing a hat, Robyn bought underwear off a Scottish criminal who Dave then invited to join us, Dale had a bizarre wager with Terrance and many many more happy memories in both it's previous and current incarnations.
We make this place a must everytime we go out in town, I suggest you do too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Just got back from The Lost Dene after having tea and a couple of drinks with my husband. We last went in when the place was called The Hogs Head and it was OKish. The place as had a name change and a refurb since then and there have been many improvements.

The decor inside is reallly nice and the atmosphere is really good. On Monday night they offer meals such as lasagne, sausage and mash, chilli con carne for example for £1.99!! But we opted for chicken curry and chicken and mushroom suet pudding with chips and peas for £6.95 for both and they were delicious. Drinks were reasonable, pint of lager, large glass of pinot for £5.20 and the staff were friendly and helpful.

There are lots of offers at this pub curry night, two meals and bottle of wine £10.00 etc so think this will become a regular with us as we were both very impressed with everything. Can't wait to go back! They also have Sky Sports.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lost Dene also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Lost Dene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lost Dene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.