We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5AH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Booked through Anoma and at a very competitive price. The hotel is quite new and located about 10 minutes walk from the main commercial centre in the up and coming Northern District. Reception were helpful, polite and knowledgeable about getting around providing a map and booking taxis very willingly. Stayed in an accesible room which had everything you need and was clean and in good repair. Bed felt a bit soft at first but seemed to sleep well enough on it. A self serve breakfast is included, with a fairly limited range but kept replenished. There is free "basic" wifi in the rooms which is fine for email and searches. Would definitely stay here again and beats my recent stay at the Venice Hilton for safety, sleep, internet, effective management and value!

Room Tip: Quiet on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    358
    81
    22
    4
See reviews for
100
260
36
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Cheekily booked online via laterooms whilst in the lobby of this hotel...£60 more to pay the room rate the hotel itself was advertising! That said it was worth every penny - we had a room on the 7th floor offering a great view. It was simple, modern and fresh. Breakfast was included: basic but offered what I'd have gone for.
Location was great right on the edge of the Northern Quarter so a stone's throw from some great pubs and bars and restaurants.
Very friendly receptionist/manager on duty, think it was Susan?
Would recommend :)

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is great value for money - modern, spotlessly clean, comfy beds, helpful staff, great breakfast, in a very good location (10 mins walk from arena and Victoria station), and with a car park close by that only costs £4.50 for 24 hours. Highly recommended to anyone staying in Manchester.
My only small complaint is about the so-called free wifi access throughout the hotel. It's so slow it's basically unuseable, but as soon as you pay £4 to upgrade to their premium internet service it works absolutely fine. I think it's a bit deceptive to advertise 'free internet' when it doesn't actually work unless you pay.
Otherwise a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

great hotel,wonderful welcome lovely clean room nice and central and really easy to get to the arena! My tip is of you want to go Into.Manchester shopping the arndale centre is 5 mins away and if you go to shudehill station and get the number 2 free metrolink bus it'll take you straight to spinningfields

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlicjaTaranowicz, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Lizi

Thank you for the recent stay and wonderful feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. In addition thank you for the tip in regards to getting the free bus to Spinningfields. We look forward to greeting you again in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a very busy weekend for Manchester, despite the hotel being full the standard of service and helpfulness of the staff was superb. The hotel is located in the northern quarter close to loads of small bars and eateries. The hotel doesn't have a car park, but all day parking is only across the road. Breakfast can be busy but be patient as there is loads to go around. A reasonably priced hotel in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Visiting Manchester for a concert, we chose to stay in this hotel due to it's proximity to the Phones4U Arena. The Reception staff were very pleasant and welcoming - apologising profusely for the 'wait' (which was no more than a few minutes) and giving us directions to the arena. The room itself was clean and modern with a gorgeous bathroom. The only disappointment was that the twin room we booked was a double and a sofa bed rather than two single beds. Given the room was pretty expensive, it was hoped we'd have two single beds, though the sofa bed was big (if a little uncomfortable). The free wifi was much appreciated and actually worked in the room as well. The breakfast was very nice and fairly varied, though there wasn't much variety of hot food with only sausage, scrambled egg and beans. The hotel was easy to find and very quiet so we did have a good night's sleep. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would say it is definitely one of the nicer ones I've stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Room was fine, clean and comfortable. Shower temp was a bit variable. Free internet didn't work. Breakfast was quite a limited choice and in a very depressing room - felt like eating in soviet Russia.

It's fine as a place to lay your head, but my company gets the same rate at the Radisson Park Inn a bit further down the street and while the rooms are comparable, the park inn has a much better breakfast and has a pool do I would choose to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlicjaTaranowicz, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Mrs Burton
Thank you for your recent stay and for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable, but saddened you didn't enjoy all aspects of your stay. Our dinning area is decorated to the new modern standards, with blue trim lighting, pictures of the local area and colourful seating, with floor to celling windows providing plenty of natural light. I am sorry if you didn't find the design to your liking. I understand that you may not return to our hotel in the future due to negotiated rates with another hotel however I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena

Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new, modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.