We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5AH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
East Sussex
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good value and a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a couple of nights for a conference. It is obviously very new and it felt like the top end of the chain's standards with big well designed rooms, large walk in showers, wide screen TVs etc. You can't open windows so just as well the air-con is reasonably quiet. However, I didn't think the bed was very comfortable and found the mattress very springy with a rather cheap feel to it. My first night was disturbed by an over working cistern but that was put right the next day. Staff are efficient though not warmly welcoming or overly helpful so it does have a very corporate feel and you could be anywhere in the UK. Breakfast offered a surprisingly good range though the later you were the more likely the food looked a bit dried up - but there were huge bowls of fruit available and a good range of teas etc. The hotel was a closer to the centre than I had first thought - certainly walking distance - but taxis and other transport options were plentiful.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 6-8 have good views and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank You for your feedback . I am glad you found the hotel to be clean and good value but was a little concerned that you found the team to be not welcoming as this is an area we pride ourselves on. I hope that you are able to stay with us again and that we can show you our smiley nature and I am sorry that wasn't apparent on your visit this time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    358
    81
    22
    4
See reviews for
100
260
36
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a great hotel for a stay to experiance Manchester City Centre.
My Wife and I stayed Friday to Sunday and we were both impressed by the Hotel and location.
The Hotel seems very new and well kept, rooms are quiet, modern, comfortable and nice. Bathroom is exceptional for the price range (much better than some 4 star places iv seen).
The location is great, just a short few minutes walk from, local shops, shopping centres, restaurants and city centre sights.
Parking is cheap, and just a a couple of minutes walk from hotel.
I know some people complain about the breakfast, but we found it adequate, for what we paid. The dont claim to be the anything special, its a decent attempt.
The staff were very helpful with whatever we asked about, they even have a selection of local takeaway leaflets which the happily borrow.

All in all, it was a great stay, we would definitely use again.

Thank you all at Holiday Inn Express MEN

Room Tip: Rooms high up have a nice view (if facing city centre way)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I was pleased to read that you and your wife enjoyed your weekend with us and that you found the team helpful during your stay. I hope you think of us when you next visit the city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express MEN Arena hotel at the beginning of September 2012 on a trip thru Scotland and England. The hotel is difficult to find as it is behind the larger Crowne Plaza hotel in an alley near the MEN Arena, Shudehill transit plaza, Victoria Station and Arndale shopping center. The area is up-and-coming with great places to drink nearby on Friday and Saturday nights, hence the much higher weekend room rates. There is no on-site parking but there was some street parking and parking lots nearby. The City of Manchester runs 3 free Metroshuttle bus lines that will take you all over town from the nearby Shudehill Transit Plaza including to Piccadilly Station, Deansgate, the Museum of Science and Industry, MediaCityUK, etc.

The hotel included a simple HIE breakfast; scrambled eggs, toast, coffee, milk, juice, cereal, yogurt, beans, etc. nothing really special or cooked to order. When I was a guest there were always plenty of seats available unlike the comments about crowding I read from other reviewers.

There was basic Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel if you brought you own PC but only 1 free Internet PC in the breakfast room to check e-mails. Next to the breakfast area was a bar serving drinks. There was also a Tesco store nearby that was open late for snacks and basic toiletries.

The hotel is relatively new with clean, quiet and small rooms. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of pillows based on firmness. The room included a flat panel LG TV, desk, chair, couch, hair dryer, teakettle and small windows with a great view over the adjacent buildings from my room on the top floor. The shower itself was very large but in my opinion the water pressure was weak and not quite hot enough.

All the employees I had encounters with were nice and informative. Check-in and check-out were accomplished quickly and correctly. The hotel was one of the more expensive on my trip but it was a good value as the building and furnishings were new, clean and of high quality.

The hotel was new, in a safe area and easy to find after some initial confusion. I have and will continue to recommend this hotel as a place to stay when in Manchester.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for completing a detailed review on your stay it really does help other travellers when choosing where to stay, I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel and would recommend us to others. We hope to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, England
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We couldn't find it easily initially, but eventually did (I had printed off lots of maps which helped). Very helpful staff on reception. Not sure it was worth the £99 we paid for the night (perhaps the clash with Labour Party conference, a show at the nearby MEN and a big football match kicking off later than normal helped increase the price). Good breakfast - everything you could want, but (as with many hotels) the scrambled egg looked unappetising. Would stay again, as I now know where it is and the location is very convenient.

Room Tip: Top floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on the hotel I am sorry you had a little trouble finding us but I appreciate the postive comments regarding the breakfast and our location. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel for price very clean spacious room friendly staff great location late chekout till 2 pm ideal for the mornin aftr hangover breakfast was included and very adequate beds really comfortable didnt want to get out of it would stay ther again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlicjaTaranowicz, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and the 5 star rating. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I am a priority club member and use the IHG hotel group quiet often and I have to say this hotel is my favourite in Manchester and probay the best holiday inn I've stayed at.
The location is very close to city centre, the rooms are spacious and clean and I love the showers!!!
As a gold member I get a free wifi upgrade which is good however there is free wifi in the hotel just a little slower than the upgrade. There's a good range of tv channels and they allow you to get take away delivered to hotel.
I wish they'd reserve the top floor with the views for us priority members but you can't have it all.

Top hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank You so much for your fabulous comments on our hotel, it really brightened my day and I have passed the feedback on to the team. Your idea about a Priority Club floor is something we are looking at and I think as most members are long term travellers it will add to the overall experience too .We hope to continue being your favourite hotel in the city and can’t wait to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

convenient to victoria station where you can catch the tram to picaddilly station. from there to the airport by train. the hotel itself was very nice and clean. the complimentary breakfast was ordinary. no near what chester racecourse hi breakfast. the sports channels are blocked in the rooms so you have to go to the bar for sports. of course with manchester football teams being at the top thats all there is to watch. go manchester united. great location tho,,,,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlicjaTaranowicz, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. I was disappointed to hear that you thought our breakfast was not as good as some of other hotels’ within the brand. We take all feedback on board as it helps us improve our service, so thank you for your comments.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena

Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new, modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.