We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5AH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great value hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Really good value hotel, room was lovely with a good shower and great views across the city. Good location with shops and restaurants on your doorstep. The staff were very helpful and friendly too. Breakfast was included and the choice was good. If I was being super critical all I'd say was the bar area/seating area was a bit stark with the very bright lights, white seats and neon blue lighting!

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay at our hotel!
It is ideally located for everything the fantastic city of Manchester has to offer and I hope that you return to see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    358
    80
    22
    4
See reviews for
99
257
36
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is ideally located near all main facility's...m.e.n, arndale etc.
Brilliant value for a city centre, spotlessly clean,friendly,comfy beds and the breakfast
was ideal to keep you going until lunchtime. Few people have criticised the breakfast
but for what you pay it is excellent....the only critic Is the area where breakfast is served ..it is
rather cramped and a bit disorganised but to be fair it was a concert night at the men so was
fully booked!. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and stay there on my next visit to Manchester

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
I was delighted to read that you had a great stay at our hotel! It is ideally located for everything the fantastic city of Manchester has to offer and I hope that you return to see us soon

Our free hot breakfast is an area that we are continually trying to improve, as you noted the area is quite limited if we have a high occupancy however we have listened to our guests and are in the process of redesigning the area to make it more efficient & create better space
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here last weekend for two nights while on a trip to Manchester to see a United match. Great location- very close to the Arndale shopping centre and lots of restaurants/bars and Metro stops (very easy getting to Old Trafford on the Metro). The room was spotless and had all amenities required for a weekend away. The whole hotel is very modern and staff were very friendly! Breakfast wasn't anything special but was good for a bite to eat before going out- big queue on Sunday morning so go early! I don't think I could fault this hotel at all..will definitely stay again when going back to Manchester!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments & am glad you enjoyed your stay, I will ensure this is passed on to our team

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

stayed for 2 nights at this hotel, the room was very cosy with a comfortable bed the room had every thing you need for a short stay and is only a 2 minute walk from the town centre.
only down side was no parking had to park in an N.C.P car park which costs £15.50 for 24 hours

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank You for completing a review on your stay and I am glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel

The hotel does not have an onsite car park however we do have various parking facilities within walking distance of the hotel.

The nearest car park is the NCP Printworks across the road from the Crowne Plaza hotel which is £15.40 for 24 hrs and is a covered car park or the Euro Car Park which is open air and costs £4.80 for 24 hours it is situated on the corner of Addington Street and Rochdale Road

Both of these are only 3 minutes’ walk from the hotel

We have also listed more car parks and locations on our hotels own website

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I was very impressed by the friendliness of the staff, the very high standard of cleanliness & a great bathroom with a very roomy shower. I also thought it was very good value. I would have given 5 stars if the breakfast had been better. I would have much preferred to see bacon rather than sausages. But the hotel was well located for easy access to the city centre & cheap parking nearby. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank You for the great feedback on your stay

I am delighted you found the service and cleanliness of a 5 star standard and will ensure I pass it on to the team

Unfortunately as part of Holiday Inn express standard all the hotels provideonly 3 hot items which are beans, sausage and scrambled egg and not bacon

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great hotel for a city break, ideally located for shopping,bars and restuarants. We were there for the Manchester United match which was easily reached on the Metro. The hotel was spotless I have never seen a cleaner bathroom before in a hotel. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very basic but better than nothing! I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback on the service & cleanliness here at the hotel I am delighted that our team where able to demonstrate our stay real attitude and I will pass your comments on to the guys

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

A nice hotel that would've been given a rating of four, if I hadn't have had breakfast. The location is good, although the odd side street doesn't feel too secure. It's less than a three minute walk from the Arndale Centre. The rooms are actually quite good with all of the facilities that you would need; and with a great shower.

All was going well until I had breakfast. The scrambled eggs were dry and very grainy and the beans looked like they had been there for over a week. Then, when I asked when was the bacon coming out, I was told they don't serve bacon. How can you serve a hotel breakfast without bacon??? I didn't touch the sausages, which also looked grim.

Nice hotel, shame about the breakfast

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank You for the good feedback on the hotel and location.

I am sorry that you felt the breakfast quality was not of a good standard, Our free hotel breakfast is an express standard and it includes a continental style breakfast and hot options

Originally it was either bacon or sausage on alternate days & scrambled egg but after speaking nationwide to our guests the decision was made to be consistent and provide the 3 hot items of sausages, eggs and beans every day in all Holiday Inn Express hotels

We hope this will not deter you from visting us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena

Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new, modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.