We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good late Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tatton Arms

Tatton Arms
Trenchard Drive | Moss Nook, Manchester, England
0161 437 2505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 1,640 restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really good late Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our first visit to the Tatton Arms and we were very glad we gave it a try. The service from the staff was excellent and the food was pretty good, definitely at the top end of pub restaurant food and good value with good sized portions. Loved the waiters' attitude relaxed, friendly and attentive and also great with the kids. Definitely going to be back, thanks for a lovely meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    166
    27
    9
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ben”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The reviews for here are very misleading in terms of service. Rudest staff member I've encountered. Miserable, horrible, feral woman when serving me, her attitude was terribly rude, agressive and patronising. Worst attitude of any staff member I can remember encountering. In the end she put me off my food before it was even with me, I asked for my money back, to which she didn't even say anything or ask me why I was asking this, threw my money at me and turned her back on me. Will NEVER be coming back here again and this is simply down to this member of staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattonArms, Manager at Tatton Arms, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Now what can i also say about this review........? i know, what a load of rubbish as well. Again it is one thing to place an honestly review whether this be critical or positive but it is totally another to place a review based on absolute rubbish. We have contacted Trip Advisor today and made a formal complaint against you and asked them to investigate both reviews placed on the same day, stating the near identical details, should this be found to be correct, we will then take the appropriate action,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible service from unpleasant lady”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Went in for lunch when passing. Looked a pleasant enough place, went to bar to give my order and was served by a very unpleasant lady. I dropped money and was looking for it to help her, she gave me a dirty look and said she'll look for it. I asked for a receipt she waved her hand where water spat into my face from her wet hand and she told me I could not have one because I didn't ask before the transaction (that's the first time I have been to restaurant where I wasn't given a receipt, and the first time someone has said no when I have asked for one) her face and attitude was awful and I told her to leave it because she put me off my food already with the way she was talking to me,i asked for my money back and she practically threw it at me. I came to the Hungry Horse around the corner where the service was much more pleasant and welcoming. It was quite upsetting for me as I went in a good mood with good manners. I'm not sure if she is like that with all her customers or if it was personal, I can only think maybe she was horrible to me as I didn't look like all the other older customers and I had pleasant manners. Maybe she is the owner and thinks she can be horrible to her customers if she likes, or maybe she is just unhappy with her job. Whatever her reasons, she bought the place down, and ruined the experience for me, so i'd recommend the Hungry Horse just around the corner if you want to be treated with respect and courtesy and how you should be treated when you are someone's customer

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattonArms, Manager at Tatton Arms, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Now what can i say about this review........? i know, what a load of rubbish. It is one thing to place an honestly review whether this be critical or positive but it is totally another to place a review based on absolute rubbish. We have contacted Trip Advisor today and made a formal complaint against you and asked them to investigate both reviews placed on the same day, stating the near identical details, should this be found to be correct, we will then take the appropriate action,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ainsdale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just popped in for a coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Having arrived at the airport car park too early we were confident that we would get a quick coffee! How obliging was the manager! We have had a couple of excellent meals here in the past, before our flights. I can highly recommend the Tatton Arms for a quick drink or a meal to start a holiday. Only minutes from Manchester airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This place has the X Factor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I regularly go to this little gem of a place! Bar/restaurant manager Richard is one of the friendliest chaps about,and always greets you with a warm smile. the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much bother! The pub has a traditional feel, which makes a nice change from the usual pub co chains. It serves fresh home cooked food and always has a good variety of specials. I can recommend the battered cod and chips, amongst others, washed down with a pint or two :-) of Guinness. If you like proper pubs how they used to be, you can't go wrong visiting here. 5⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Jim and Bex

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatton Arms also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Altrincham, Cheshire
 

Been to Tatton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.