We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you,Tatton Arms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tatton Arms

Tatton Arms
Trenchard Drive | Moss Nook, Manchester, England
0161 437 2505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 1,642 restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank you,Tatton Arms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Surely a good test of any pub-restaurant is how it fares with a large party (13), of mixed ages, from 7 to 85, on a busy Sunday just before New Year.
The building has recently undergone a very expensive renovation. It's understated, homely and comfortable, consisting of a series of nooks and cosy quasi-rooms, so at first it's difficult to see how big it is. They have open fires and lots of wooden panels. The ladies toilets are tasteful and modern, and very clean. Our tables were at the end of the restaurant where we could watch the planes coming in to land. It fascinated all of us watching them go by just a couple of hundred yards away.
We opted for the three-course Seasonal menu. Beef is a good 'tell' for quality of food, as so many places serve it either tough or seemingly steamed so that it's tasteless. The beef served to us was tender, and with the unmistakeable flavour of a real roast. The accompanying vegetables were freshly prepared and properly cooked - when I say that the mashed potato tasted home made, I mean it as a compliment. The food is tasty, good quality and plentiful. If you get chance to try their home-made chocolate mousse, do so. It's worth calling in for that alone.
The staff were friendly and helpful, attentive so we didn't have to wait for anything we wanted, but not hovering over us. They served us quickly and never left us sitting with the finished plates once we'd finished. The timing of courses was comfortable - neither rushed nor left to drag, even though the pub had filled up and there were plenty of other diners.
Richard, the manager, clearly knows his job inside-out, and impressed us. He came by regularly to check we were being looked after, and to chat. He's friendly and good fun to banter with. He and his staff made it look effortless to run such a busy pub, although we know it's anything but.
Most of my family had travelled more than 40 miles to attend the meal and they all said they want to come back.
Thank you, Richard and your staff, for a lovely afternoon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    168
    28
    9
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Happy Christmas family gathering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Met up with family for post christmas get together and birthday celebration. Gorgeous 3 course meal, excellent value for money and very friendly staff....what more could you ask for? Great for plane spotters as well as you can see the planes coming in to land at Manchester airport so kept our 5 year old grandson amused. Happy to recommend Tatton Arms to anyone.

Joycie A

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trip back home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After 13 years away, I was back in England and stopped in for lunch at the Tatton Arms. Excellent food, good service and a great atmosphere with a strong contingent of locals ... always a good sign. There were a good range of choices and we never did get to dessert on this occasion. One place definitely to visit. Great charm & character and excellent value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“love the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

good food, drinks and very polite staff and ample parking. well worth a visit if your in the area near manchester airport.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“ALWAYS GREAT SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have become regulars at the Tatton Arms. Every time we go we receive a warm welcome , and of course the food is always enjoyable.

They have a specials board which changes on a regular basis, often offering something a little unusual. Last time we visted I had monkfish tail serviced with butternut squash cooked in a Goan curry sauce. Delicious!

The food is chef prepared and not of the "ping" variety which makes such a difference, and the prices are reasonable.

The pub is near the airport so if you like to watch the planes this can be done from the very pleasant garden or from inside through the picture window, however just in case you were wondering the noise does not disturb your dining.

Thouroughly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatton Arms also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Altrincham, Cheshire
 

Been to Tatton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.