We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seems authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phetpailin

Phetpailin
46 George Street, Manchester M1 4HF, England
+44 161 228 6500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $53
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is an unlicensed restuarant but we do let the customers to BRING THEIR OWN ALCOHOL with no corkage charge.
Lincoln
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“seems authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went there on a Saturday and had a great night. We have been to many Thai restaurants trying to find Thai food similar to that of Thailand. The owner, food and ambiance was great. The price is very reasonable and you are not rushed to eat and get out!! Highly recommended. Don't miss out!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    30
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We've been here so many times and I felt I really should write a review since the secrets out now.

The food is always excellent and every one we've taken loves the food too and we try and make it for each new years eve meal because it's so relaxing here.

We were last here in September and we ordered a set menu which included sea bass. When it arrived the fish was huge. I've had sea bass in Thai restaurants before but these were tiny. The food was wonderful and tasty, full of flavour which was great as we didn't order the usual dishes.

We both enjoyed our meals and as always the staff were warm and welcoming.

The restaurant itself is lovely and warm and great if you want a romantic night out for two. As you can bring your own alcoholic drinks you can save a lot of money and the food prices a very reasonable. Overall we always have a great time here and are never disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai with reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The selection was good. Prices averaged about $30 US for a two course meal. No alcohol is served. It appears that BYOB is allowed. Dishes were typical to exotic Thai fare with ample heat warnings. Easily accessible from the heart of Manchester. Definitely another dinner is in order

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Read about this restaurant on Trip advisor and so we weren't surprised when we phoned at 4pm on a Saturday night to book a table for 2 at 6pm and were told they were full. We decided we would still take a look at 6pm to see if there was room. Got there and there was no one in!! Most tables were made up for large parties however there were 4 empty tables for 2 and we were given one straight away. Good atmosphere very polite service, bring your own wine meant the meal was great value. My husband and I shared the mix starter which was good - the thai fish cakes and chicken satay in particular. I had Pad Thai for main which was lovely and a very large portion. My husband had the Panaeng beef curry which was also extremely tasty. We will definitely return and highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My new favourite in Manchester!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have to disagree with the previous review about portion size, the portions were colossal and the majority of tables were asking for doggy bags to take home! Our waitress let us wait an hour between courses as the starters were so large we were not ready for the main course so we had time to relax and enjoy a glass of wine. The food was hands down the best Thai in Manchester, very authentic and the waitress asks you what level of heat you want. Would not go to any other Thai restaurant now and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phetpailin also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Phetpailin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phetpailin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.