We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phetpailin

Phetpailin
46 George Street, Manchester M1 4HF, England
+44 161 228 6500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 1,825 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $53
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is an unlicensed restuarant but we do let the customers to BRING THEIR OWN ALCOHOL with no corkage charge.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thai!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have been to other thai's on parts of manchester, but We visited this thai restaurant and tried the tilapa dish, it was was really tasty
The staff were friendly, and it was also good value for money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    30
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Probably the best Thai food in Manchester!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have visited this restaurant for at least the last 6 years and have always had perfectly cooked, delicious, tasty Thai food.

We have had beef, chicken, King prawn and the tilapia. The dishes are always spot on. The fresh ingredients are always included whether they be Thai peas or baby Thai aubergines, Holy Basil is usually in there too, to name but a few.

The fish dishes are superb. The curries are tasty and the stir fry amazing. The mixed starter is good value.

The service is friendly and efficient. BYO is a bonus so far as we are concerned.

Our only disappointment is this; if you haven't booked in advance on Friday/Saturday night then you won't get it!!

We have in recent years, on more than one occasion "turned up" only to be "turned away".

Book ahead as the secret is out!

We last went on a Sunday and we hadn't booked, we were so grateful to get it. We felt the need for a "Thai fix" . As we had been turned away from Phet on the Saturday evening, we had ended up eating extremely inferior Thai food at Koh Samui on Princess Street. It really was poor in comparison and we felt cheated! We shall vote with our feet and remember to book Phet in advance in future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“1st Time....and worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been to all the other Thai eateries in and around Manchester but this one was the best by far. Reviews on TA are bang on. Service was good, Thai currys 'Red and Green' were superb.
Could easily have had twice the amount as it was so good. Bring your own bottle is a great way to save money if thats what you want. Personaly 'wine and thai' don't really sort of gel and I have been in wine business for 40 years. A good lager works well though.
Highly recomended and "Yes" you can forgive the tacky sparkling fairy lights which is a typical Far Eastern pre requisite.
I agree with all the positive comments that have been posted.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Perfect Phetphallin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had an absolutely brilliant meal at this restaurant. We were very impressed with the tilapa dish - it was so so tasty. The staff were so polite and it was excellent value for money. This is now our favourite Thai restaurant in Manchester

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food, the best we've had in a while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

By far the best Thai food I've had in this part of the world. I'm not overly keen when it comes to Thai but we decided to check this place out on the recommendation of a friend. We arrived at 8.30 on a Friday evening and were quite surprised to find the restaurant almost empty. The service was fantastic and the food even more so, which added to the confusion about the number of empty tables. The prices were very reasonable and the portions were the perfect size and filled us up, not too big like some Asian restaurants. It's also BYO so we grabbed some bottles of beer from the Sainsburys around the corner.
Would highly recommend to any fan of Thai food coming to Manchester in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phetpailin also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Phetpailin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phetpailin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.