We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxuriate at the Lowry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Lowry Hotel to your Saves list
The Lowry Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Dearmans Place | Chapel Wharf, Manchester M3 5LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Luxuriate at the Lowry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

A rather nice weekend spent here recently. Booked a riverside view room on the 5th floor, floor to ceiling windows offer a view of the Irwell and adjacent office and apartment buildings in the city, alright it's not quite in the same league as Sydney Opera House, but an interesting view . Rooms here are very spacious and as you'd expect from a five star establishment , every amenity from ipod dock to well stocked mini bar. Very large comfortable beds and a modern interior, room safe, flat screen TV, etc etc. Tea and coffee making facilities available to be delivered to your room but not there when you arrive. Car park for residents is £12 per night . The Hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the city and would have been even better had the footbridge not been closed for repair, which meant a 10 minute diversion on foot. Breakfast was taken n the rather nice riverview restaurant and was superb. Smoked haddock & poached egg ....delightful. Excellent service and good quality is the overiding feel here and you'd have to be very critical indeed to be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    296
    115
    61
    19
See reviews for
100
511
40
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I stayed here for the weekend and found the whole experience faultless.
I arrived after a long drive and found parking easily in the hotel car park, which is great in MAnchester as many of the hotels do not have car parks. As soon as I got out of the car help was available for my bags, I thought to myself that this was a very good first impression and it was lived up to this for the entire weekend.

Rooms are clean and spacious. The bed is comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. The only moan was that the hairdryer was rubbish and there are not enough plugs in the room.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant was lovely and the waiters were really attentive as were all staff at the hotel.

A very enjoyable stay which i would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I booked the Lowry for two nights for my son's graduation. The rooms and public areas are modern and spacious with a cool atmosphere. The staff were efficient and helpful.The restaurant served good food at dinner ...I would recommend getting a rate that includes breakfast as they classify one small portion of cooked vegetables as a whole buffet breakfast at £18.50.!! The rooms themselves were good value but any extras will be expensive . The rooms were quiet with no traffic below as it is not on a through road. The spa looked nice although they were fully booked so worth planning treatments in advance.The location is good - either a walk or short taxi ride to the city centre. It was a special occasion and we were glad we stayed there.... If I return to Manchester, I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Easily the best hotel in Manchester. A modern and contemporary interior, with spacious rooms and great service in a top location. You can also get good rates on the rooms if you shop around and book in advance.

Also has a nice bar that does great cocktails, and a fine dining restaurant that you really must try!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

£119.00 room only rate, expensive but best price of all similar hotels in Manchester.
Parking on site ..£12.00 24hrs(why is it not free for residents?). Met at the door by friendly doorman offering to help me with my one small bag. Quick check in. Larger than usual room, overlooking the river (£20.00 supplement, making my room charge £149.00)..probably worth it as taxis, cars, buses are always outside at the front of the hotel so a good nights sleep might be a problem. No coffee/tea making facilites..(I noticed later that you can request these from room service) but this is not good enough in my opinion. Bar and restaurant staff very friendly and not at all pompous, which I like. Manchester city centre is reached by a short walk over the river via a foot bridge.The approach/access to the front of the hotel is not great, the area looks like it is the middle of redevelopment which has stopped!. Overall though at £119.00 not bad value..having paid £179.00 the night before for a smaller scruffy room at the Hilton...Free Wifi would be a good idea..it is 2010!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

The Lowry on the river bank has generous rooms, King bed, modern fixtures, a bidet, robes, room safe, a press for pants, an I-pod stand, 32 inch LCD. Wired internet is 15 GBP for 24 hours. There is wireless in the bar and terrace. There is a spa and gym. The Lowry earns its five star rating. The rate was 149 GBP including full breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I stayed at the lowry based on reputation and location, I travel all over the world and stay in fine hotels burj-dubai, oriental-bangkok, four seasons-florence and so on so I feel can give a unbiased and truthful review of the property.

When I arrived at the lowry i was greeted by the doorman, very efficent and quick after that I went to reception at 13.30pm to check in. I was informed my room was not ready and that i should wait and I would be called when it had been serviced. The receptionist was complaining what a stressful day she had and how busy she was!!!(do i care no, I am in manchester one day/Night for business in a so called deluxe hotel to hear the staff moan!!!!!!) anyhow i sat in full view of the receptionist waiting to be called. After an hour I went back and asked when the the room would be ready, she checked and it was already ready. This is poor service, firstly the room is not ready, then im told the i would be notified and soon as it was serviced, which never happned and then she had the cheek to moan about her job

Went to room, and to be honest I was shocked the "city view" room was a car park room, the furniture scratched and worn, bathroom tile finish very bad and all and all i would say it would pass as a 3 star room, not even tea and coffee facilities.

Plus+
Location
Breakfast good quality food and attentive service.

Minus-
Views
Service levels of receptionist
dated and worn rooms

Would I stay here again, NO id rather stay in a good standard holiday inn, dont waste your money either on business or pleasure The hotel is living on its reputation of old and this is surely the receipe for declining standards

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lowry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowry Hotel

Address: 50 Dearmans Place | Chapel Wharf, Manchester M3 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lowry Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manchester's most fashionable hotel, the award-winning Lowry Hotel is ideally situated on the banks of the River Irwell in the recently-developed Chapel Wharf area on the Salford-Manchester boundary. The first five-star hotel in Greater Manchester, The Lowry Hotel makes a bold contemporary architectural statement with its dramatic, curved, glass-fronted façade that creates a light and airy feel within the hotel interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lowry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.