We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanksville, Salford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Lowry Hotel to your Saves list
The Lowry Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Dearmans Place | Chapel Wharf, Manchester M3 5LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Swanksville, Salford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

Swanksville, Salford

The ideal transport in which to arrive at The Lowry is a Ferrari or a glossy black 4x4. The ideal guest is, or is accompanied by, a 19-year old girl with very long blonde hair, a microscopic black dress and skyscraper heels. You should have a taste for that ultra-modern style of furniture that always looks a size larger than strictly necessary and specialises in chairs designed not to be sat on but looked at. It is the kind of hotel you imagine that footballers might head for, planning their next News-of-the-World-style three-in-a-bed cocaine-fuelled sex romp. If they do, however, they may be put off their stroke to discover, on their enormous and inviting bed, a free copy of The Catholic Herald and an unctuous letter from the hotel proprietor, Sir Rocco Forte, urging them to take out a cut-price subscription to the newspaper – a must-read for any passing Cardinal - and spicing the deal with the offer of a free book by the Pope. I am not making this up.

However, underneath the many wonderful absurdities of The Lowry is a very well run hotel. The staff are helpful, friendly and well-trained. My wife, arriving tired and harassed to check in after a business trip, found her bags whisked away from her taxi and delivered magically to our room. We ate in the café/bar and, having explained that we were running late for a theatre-date, were served with exemplary speed (and the food was fine too – and the wine excellent). Room service was speedy and thoughtful. Our fifth-floor room was spacious, perfectly prepared, very well-equipped (even a spare computer keyboard should we have needed it) and quiet. The bathroom was spot on. The location is great too – within easy walking distance of the main Manchester downtown shopping area – across a rather beautiful new footbridge spanning the River Irwell. Our only complaints were a loose support arm for the shaving mirror – and the third-rate pastiches of paintings by L S Lowry (a second rate artist at the best of times) that infest the hotel. But really, those are quite trivial moans.

None of this comes cheap. Our room was £180 (and that was an offer price). Breakfast (excellent) was a minimum of £27 extra for the two of us. Our quick bar snack cost well over £40. You scatter quite a lot of money in tips.

But if you want the full-on, high-gloss, new-money, uber-smart Manchester experience, then The Lowry is the place.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    298
    115
    61
    19
See reviews for
103
513
40
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

We stayed at the Lowry overnight and paid £140 direct from their website. This was for a deluxe city view room. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The bed is huge even though it is two beds pushed together its very comfortable. The walk in wardrobe and dressing area is a nice touch. The bathroom is also spacious with a large bath. The bathroom could do with more up market toiletries for the price such as Molten Brown which they have in the hotel washrooms. The location is really good just a short walk into the city centre or to the MEN arena. Room service is expensive but very quick and the food is good. Watch on checkout that you have been billed correctly as we were being charged for someone elses breakfast!!! It was quickly amended but should not happen in a hotel of this stature. The reception staff and concierge are very efficient and helpful.
We requested an early check in and got there at 12pm but the room was not ready, a little dissappointing I thought. Why offer this facility if its not going to be available. I even contacted them beforehand via e-mail regarding an early check in and no one bothered to get back to me.
.
This is a nice hotel and we would stay here again.
The river view rooms however are not worth the extra money as they are the same rooms as the city view but with a view of the river which is surrounded by apartments nothing worth looking at really from either side of the hotel
The public areas are spacious and very clean.

This hotel could be more special if the bed was just one huge bed not 2 pushed together.
It had luxurious toiletries as standard in the bathroom.
The TV was more upmarket such as an LCD screen rather than a hotel standard small tv.

  • Liked — Large spacious comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — river view rooms not worth extra money
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2006

I decided to stay at the Lowry to surprise my partner for our anniversary. I chose to stay in the deluxe riverside suite which cost £695 for the night.
From the moment we arrived, and started unloading our bags a porter was quick to take them off our hands.
After we checked in, the receptionist personally showed us upto our room and offered to explain how everything worked.
The room was huge, it had small kitchen area, a guest bathroom, a 42in flat screen tv, dining table, internet access, ipod station, cd player, 2 sofa's, walk in wardrobe, big bathroom and a super kingsize bed.
Before we had time to settle in our room, we recieved six strawberrys that had been dipped in three layers of chocolate and left to set (which were delicious), compliments of the hotel.
The hotel helped to arrange a babysitter to look after our twelve month old son for the evening whilst we dinned in the restaurant.
The riverside restaurant was exceptional, the food was out of this world and the service excellent.
My partner went to the hotel spa and had a massage, which she thoroughly enjoyed and was made to feel very special.
The only downside to hotel were that the car park was £12 and their directions were slightly wrong.
But overall I would highly recommend anyone to stay at the Lowry!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

Having spent a lovely weekend away at The Malmaison recently, He decided our next rendezvous would be The Lowry. Our overall impression was one of disappointment. We cannot comprehend how this hotel is 5 Star.

The directions was wrong and the car park costs £12 per day.

We arrived 30 mins early than expected. The room was not ready and when it was they had forgot to check the mini-bar contents.

Given our room cost £270 ( check out room rates for top London hotels such as The Capital and The Milestone for comparison ) we found it extremely basic. It didn't even boast tea making facilities as standard!

The bed consisted of two separate mattresses which I found irritating and the bathroom was basic. I expected quality bathing products and all you got were little samples, which certainly would not be enough for fun and folics in the evening and then the next morning shower before departure!

After eating out we arrived back for a drink at the bar. House wine was £18 per bottle and He decided we would try a couple of little cheesecakes. These cost £7 each. Including a couple of cocktails the bill came to about £50.

We missed breakfast ( finished at 10.30am on Sunday ), so I treated Him to breakfast in Kendals.

To summarise our overall impression was one of disappointment and the hotel was very overpriced compared to the service, surroundings and facilities available at The Malmaison.

  • Liked — No opinion
  • Disliked — We expected a lot more
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there unless you wish to tell friends you have stayed here. Save your money.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley Lancashire UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

Stayed here overnight to go see a concert at the Lowry Theatre. The atmosphere here is relaxing, but also 'happening'.
The bar and lobby areas are spacious, and the rooms are adequate in size.
Not the most luxurious hotel room I have stayed in, but very pleasant.
Paid £100 for the night; quite expensive, but it is in the centre, and handy for shopping too.
Quite fancied a cooked breakfast in the morning, but when we saw the price of £18.95 each, decided to walk to Starbucks nearby!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

Stayed at The Lowry again in October and had another great stay. We weren't upgraded this time but room was still great had a great view of the car park (lots of star spotting!). We had room service this time and that was nice, quick service and although pricy worth it if you can't be bothered to go out after a long day shoppoig and walking. One good touch is that i filled out the comments form in the room and got a personal letter from the hotle manager answering the points i raised. Excellent will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and great hotel bar
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — emailed hotel direct for best rates advertised on wensite at £400 i got it at £150
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

Booked hotel on Rocco Forte website at £300 basic rate with no breakfast or parking thrown in. Had a river view room which was large and minimalistic.

It's a 5 star hotel but I cannot say it was worth the rate at all and clearly it lacks competition. I couldn't actually complain about anything (although we had no turndown or clean towels for the morning) but it just didn't feel anything special. Like an upmarket business hotel really.

The bar was packed at 1am on a Saturday with residents clearly bringing guests in which meant we couldn't get a seat. Not great.

Also, there was no bellman to greet us or help with luggage. Distinctly average I have to say.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room rate!
  • Tips/Secrets — see if you can get an inclusive rate on Expedia.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lowry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowry Hotel

Address: 50 Dearmans Place | Chapel Wharf, Manchester M3 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lowry Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manchester's most fashionable hotel, the award-winning Lowry Hotel is ideally situated on the banks of the River Irwell in the recently-developed Chapel Wharf area on the Salford-Manchester boundary. The first five-star hotel in Greater Manchester, The Lowry Hotel makes a bold contemporary architectural statement with its dramatic, curved, glass-fronted façade that creates a light and airy feel within the hotel interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lowry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.