We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Lowry Hotel to your Saves list
The Lowry Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Dearmans Place | Chapel Wharf, Manchester M3 5LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Pershore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Business Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

First class customer service, nice rooms, good bar and restaurant, what more could you ask for?
The only glitch was that I was unable to make external calls from my room, but this was resolved without fuss with a single call to reception.

Dinner in the restaurant was very good, not exceptional, but reasonable value for money. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were all very friendly, attentive and competent.

I would certainly have no hesitation in staying again.

Room Tip: River facing superior rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a great stay, but I was sorry that there was a fault with the telephone in your room. My team are always on hand so thank you for allowing us to deal with the matter quickly. Please visit again soon. With kind regards, Peter Kienast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    298
    115
    61
    19
See reviews for
102
513
40
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just thought we would write a review (as we are terrible for only writing when things go wrong!) what a beautiful hotel! We have stayed before in 2007 and it is just as good now. Excellent large rooms (which are hard to find nowadays), a wonderful restaurant and great bar (which was serving until 3am). The staff were incredibly helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest, I am very grateful you shared your experience, thank you. It is always a good test when a guest returns to us after many years and enjoys their stay just as much as they did first time around. Please visit again and don’t leave it so long next time. I look forward to welcoming you back. With kind regards, Peter Kienast General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was the second time I have satyed at the Lowry and this time around I was disappointed.
The room was a bit shabby and the furniture needs a bit of sprucing up. Not good enough for a so called Superior room and at that price.
It should not take two calls and 40 minutes for coffee making facilities to be delivered to my room.
Also whilst in my room watching TV a hotel employee just walked into my room unannanounced whist they were chatting to somenone on their mobile phone. This is just not acceptable.
Standard are slipping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. We do have a rolling refurbishment plan where we aim to completely refurbish 40 bedrooms per year as well as undertaking large projects throughout the hotel. I was concerned to read about your visitor. Our team should always knock twice and announce themselves before entering a room, I am sorry that this was missed. All of our Supervisors carry phones to keep our lines of communication strong with other departments in the hotel, please be assured that this wasn’t a personal call, and again I apologise for this surprise. I very much hope you will return in the future, we have some exciting changes in the pipeline. With kind regards, Peter Kineast General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest uk
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The overall experience of our stay at The Lowry Hotel was underwhelming. As Manchester's top branded hotel I had high (world class) expectations which regrettably were not met. The hotel is very corporate in style and the furnishings and ambience we found to be
quite stark. There is terrible dreary artwork on the floors - as if Manchester werent dreary and bleak enough out the window!The service although polite did not make up for this.

The room was large, cold with zip-lock beds which always irritates me. One of the robes in the room had a stain on the bottom - it probably hadn' t been washed. These issues were brought up with front desk on checkout and dealt with.

Breakfast was poor. We found the breakfast menu confusing. We were sat on a wonky table in a far corner, there was no atmosphere in the dining room and when our 'a la carte' selections
arrived they were average and not as described.

The rate at £155 I feel was too expensive for a mid-week night. I feel that £80-100 would have been about right. It is such a shame that they couldn't step up to the mark on this particular stay - perhaps I was expecting too much or perhaps they are resting on your laurels and business people?

I wrote to the Manager who acknowledge my points and offered up a small amount of compensation which hasn't been processed over a week and half later.

THE VERDICT: If you are looking to be treated special in beautiful surroundings then look elsewhere. The price tag is just not worth the averageness of it all. Business people would be satisfied. The location is good and the car park is handy though expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience. I am sorry that our contemporary décor and artwork isn’t suited to your taste. We try to remain true to our routes championing, amongst others, our local World famous artist LS Lowry. His paintings do depict what was once the hub of the industrial age born in Manchester, however we appreciate that art is subjective and not to everyone’s taste. I of course apologise for the stained robe in your room, this has been brought to the attention of our Head Housekeeper who will deal with the matter internally. I also agree having looked at the breakfast menu that it is easy to be confused; immediate changes are being made to this. Following our further communication I very much hope you feel satisfied with the information provided and I hope that one day you will try the hotel again. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back. With kind regards, Peter Kienast General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Lowry several times, and it's always my first choice hotel in Manchester. I love the location next to the river, but also a much closer than it looks stroll away from shops and restaurants. The beds are comfy, the rooms modern - but my favorite bit is the bar and particularly the cocktails! My friend and I spent a lovely Sunday afternoon drinking cocktails and putting the world to rights. It's rack rates are high, but you can normally find a deal

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest, I am happy to read that we have become your chosen hotel in Manchester. We have many offers and packages throughout the year so the price of our rooms vary greatly and are very competitive in the City. Our location is unique, as you say just a short stroll across the River Irwell and you are in the heart of the city. Thank you for sharing your experience, we hope you will return very soon. With kind regards, Peter Kienast General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arrived to a barrage of concierge staff fighting to get to our bags, greeted with lots of friendly, over inflated small talk which was nice but too overbearing and embarrassing! The bar, restaurant are situated on the first floor just above reception, there was a conference going on and I found it extremely loud and off putting! I have difficulty in hearing and I experienced problems understanding the reception staff on checking in and out. The room was absolutely outstanding we had booked a deluxe city view room, it was spacious, comfortable and clean with lots of modern contemporary fixtures and fittings not much of a city view but a lovely view of the car park, We wanted to get wifi so that we could use the Internet but quickly declined this as they were charging £3 for 15 mins, £7 for 45 mins and £15 for 24 hours, also there was no coffee or tea making facilities in the room which i have never encountered before and was a reluctant to ask in case we were charged! We took a trip down to the bar and two coffees cost £ 9! I suppose if you are staying in a supposedly 5* hotel you have to pay 5* prices. We bought a bottle of house wine in the evening which cost £20 and was then charged a gratuity of £2, I was not aware of this and had already left a tip, £5 for opening a bottle of wine not bad for two minutes work! On returning to the hotel, we bumped into JLS which was a nice surprise. On the morning we checked out which I thought was 12.00 pm we were woken up at 10.30 by the cleaning staff to service the room, although I did not put a do not disturb sign on the door why on earth would you service the room before you are about to check out bizarre! Anyway, we enjoyed our stay, at a lovely hotel, paid 5* prices for the privilege but would have expected facilities like wifi to be free! would I stay there again? Probably not!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Whilst I believe you enjoyed your stay overall I am sorry that there were aspects of our service that disappointed you. Of course my colleagues are keen to assist our guests. We’re well known for our friendly service, everyone who works here does so because they have a passion for service and a love for working with people. Interaction is an important part of this, but I am sorry you found this overbearing. Our tea and coffee trays are complimentary; there is a note in each bedroom to advise our guests how to obtain one, it is delivered immediately. Our service charge is, as with any, is not compulsory, we are happy to remove it upon request. I do hope you will try us again in the future. With kind regards, Peter Kienast General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I recently stayed here with my wife after going to a gig at the M.E.N. Having not been away this year we decided to splash out on a hotel and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are huge, with comfy beds, massive windows that make it naturally very light and lovely bathrooms. Our room was close to the lift but there was no noise from it at all. It's also very handy for walking up into the city centre or going to somewhere like the M.E.N.

The staff were all very friendly and willing to help with anything, without seeming overbearing. Everything is very stylish, with lots of clean edges and high quality decor.

Drinks were pricey in the bar (£42 for the 3 we had!) but then you expect that in a 5* hotel. That's probably the only criticism I would have.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterKienast, General Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. Please do look out for the many offers and packages we have throughout the year, the lead up to Christmas is always a special time of year in the hotel, maybe you will fancy a trip for Christmas shopping. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. With kind regards, Peter Kienast General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lowry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowry Hotel

Address: 50 Dearmans Place | Chapel Wharf, Manchester M3 5LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lowry Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manchester's most fashionable hotel, the award-winning Lowry Hotel is ideally situated on the banks of the River Irwell in the recently-developed Chapel Wharf area on the Salford-Manchester boundary. The first five-star hotel in Greater Manchester, The Lowry Hotel makes a bold contemporary architectural statement with its dramatic, curved, glass-fronted façade that creates a light and airy feel within the hotel interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lowry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.