We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas markets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Manchester Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Manchester Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Manchester Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Blackfriars Street | Townbury House, Manchester M3 5AL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #43 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas markets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel three times now and our last visit was the first since the improvments and they have made a big difference. New showers baths and taps that were lovely and clean and the new beds are fantastic very comfortable and we had two pillows each!! Also I have to say that the staff were lovely vey very helpfull and friendly.


  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    92
    38
    16
    9
See reviews for
42
87
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Turned up here on business. They didn't have me or my colleague booked in. It was our mistake we had turned up at the wrong travelodge but they were really unhelpful. Two staff on the desk a trainee and someone who appeared to be more superior. They checked if we were in the other travelodge nearby but neglected to mention there were several other in manchester. It took a call from us to our travel agents to sort it out not that the staff cared. She offered directions to the correct hotel which consisted of turn left left again and follow the road round. Really glad we had a sat nav to get to the other side of manchester. Have stayed here plenty of times its a nice hotel and handy for the centre of a little noisy but you expect that with location! As I said it was our mistake we hadn't properly checked booking reference as presumed we were staying at our regular hotel but I would expect staff to be more helpful particularly when working in tourism.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a perfectly good hotel for a night or two in Manchester. The location is reasonably central. It is a standard Travelodge offering; a decent room with a comfortable bed. Breakfast is an extra but offers the opportunity to lay down a sound foundation for the day. I needed to use wifi during my stay to upload some large files to a client. Only 30 minutes of free wifi is provided. To get 24 hour access costs £3.00 and supposedly offers greater bandwidth suitable for video streaming etc. etc. Despite paying for wifi I found it atrociously slow and that it dropped continually, meaning that I had to get up in the early hours and use the system when nobody else was on it in order to upload my files. If Travelodge wants to be recognised as the preferred choice for business travellers, they had better ensure that flawless wifi with adequate bandwidth is available 24/7. There were minor issues such as an empty soap container by the shower and the fact that the "leather-look" armchair was covered in dried dribbles of what I hope was drink. Overall good for the price but not great.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are likely to be noisy as there is a busy road outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and its great value in a great location.
We attended a concert then did some christmas shopping and it was great to be 5 mins away from both.
The following morning they had a problem with no hot water, but they did apologise and on check out we were told we would receive a voucher for a free night, which subsequently arrived a few days later.
So all in all another visit that confirmed staying here is the best decision for us.
See you again soon!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Travel Lodge on Blackfriars Street in Manchester on Sat 13 Dec 2014.
Whilst I liked the central location there was no hairdryer for my wife and the fire door needed a soft closure mechanism

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There was a queue to check in but it was a Friday night. The room was big and clean as was the bathroom, the TV worked and had lots of channels. Close to city centre. Overall good and I would go again

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the most expensive prices I have paid for a Travelodge room, but in a great location and just before Christmas. The attraction for me was access by public transport. Congratulations to Manchester for laying on their free central shuttle buses from Piccadilly Station. The No.1 shuttle stops just outside La Tasca along Deansgate where you get off and just round the corner ahead is the hotel.

Our room was huge and as advertised had been recently refurbished with new bed and furniture. Our room was on the front but we had no problem with traffic noise. There is a café in the hotel that does a help-yourself breakfast if you wish, or you are only a few minutes walk away from central shops and restaurants and the Arndale shopping centre.

Highly recommended as a central budget option.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central

Address: 11 Blackfriars Street | Townbury House, Manchester M3 5AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Manchester
#41 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Manchester Central 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Hotel Manchester
Travel Lodge Manchester
Manchester Travelodge
Manchester Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Manchester Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.