We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it :~)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papa G's

Papa G's
The Printworks | 27 Withy Grove, Manchester M4 2BS5, England
0161 834 8668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 1,763 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“loved it :~)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a date here last Friday night. The restaurant had a lovely atmoshere with Greek music playing in the background. The staff were friendly as soon as we walked in and we were shown to our table. We ordered drinks my date said his draft san miguel was good. For starters we shared a Greek platter for 2 OMG this was amazing everything on the platter was delicious. For the main course I ordered the lamb shank with potatoes and my date ordered the mixed grill. We were surprised by the size of the portions (put it this way you wouldnt leave still hungry) the food was so good we would defo go back, it was hot and tasty its just a shame we couldnt eat everything and believe me my date tried his best. After waiting a while I Decided to order the crepes with chocolate sauce and strawberry ice cream for dessert, they were lovely and very enjoyable. Overall myself and my date had a lovely evening the food, service and atmosphere all 10 outta 10 cant wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    82
    33
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A friendly, buzzing restaurant with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a 5pm Friday reservation because we were going to a show that night. The restaurant was quiet as we entered but that very quickly changed and within half an hour the place was thriving. There's a real energy and vibe to the place we really enjoyed.

The service was great. Really friendly without being too intrusive and it was great to see people who looked happy in their work. The food was wonderful. On a friend's recommendation we just had the Meze Starter selection for two which we added a couple more starters/sides to and then crepes for dessert. It was absolutely delicious and even with a decent bottle of wine came to less than £30/head.

Thanks for a wonderful start to a great night Papa G's! We'll definitely be back,

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qa
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Already there 3 times!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We love the food and everything there. Especially the Halomi in sesame seeds. Staff are too kind. Everything was awesome. If there is one thing to say, the logo does not show much that it is a Greek restaurant; which the only thing we did not like. Yet everything is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Lively Place with Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile



Eat here once before and knew we had to return, so reserved a table five days earlier for a Saturday at 6pm. At first said they were full, but after mentioning we had been before and had a great experience the manager said he could fit us in if we could arrive 15 minutes earlier.
On arrival the place was 'buzzing' . The bar was full of customers waiting for tables, so when I checked in the 'front of house' said we would only have a short wait of 5 - 10 mins. There was a current wait of 45 minutes for those without  reservations.
Within 5 mins we were asked if we wanted to eat downstairs or upstairs were it was a little quieter. We chose the first floor and were taken straight to our table. The staff were exceptionally busy and really there should have been more staff, but they worked well and were a little slow with a few things due to the pressure. The table next to us received their starters and main at the same time! We ordered a bottle of wine which never arrived until I mentioned it when our starters were delivered. Our waiter apologised but made sure service to us was very good from then till we left.
We both had very good meals which were cooked to our liking and was plentiful. The 'big'  chips were superb. We could not consider a desert as we had had sufficient with the two courses. 
Without doubt the atmosphere makes this place great, along with the hardworking staff.
Even though it was busy, we were under no pressure to eat and leave quickly.
Situated in the Printworks with many other restaurants and bars. Very close to Picadilly station and the MCR Arena. You should not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“greek food with a twist!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were a party of 13 on a busy friday night in the printowroks, a challenge for any restaraunt, but Papa Gs was tremendous. The service was second to none, the manager was very friendly and cheerful, and the waiting staff really looked after us, advising on dishes and nothing was too much trouble.
The food is delicious, everyone in the party thoroughly enjoyed thier meal, I had the lentil stew it waa fab, but very filling! My friend loved the Stifado. You can still get pasta , burger and pizza, so theres something for everyone . Best of all they have Keo bottled lager! reminds me of holidays in Cyprus!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa G's also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Papa G's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa G's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.