We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street to your Saves list
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spent 2 nights here over a bank holiday weekend. Hotel is in a very good location, 10 minutes from Piccadilly station, 5 minutes from the centre and just around the corner from Canal Street. We walked everywhere without difficulties.

It's an Ibis, so you know what you get: reasonable prices, clean rooms and comfortable beds. Of course it lacks character (Ibis rooms always remind me of cruise boat cabins), but with this price you can't really expect more.

Only negative was the weird smell in our room, which luckily disappeared after the first night - different cleaning staff maybe? Manchester is a lovely city and this is a good hotel to explore from. I would recommend breakfast at Gorilla, then a visit to MOSI (if the Hadron Collider exhibition is still on it is a must!) and a walk around the ruins and canals. For dinner book Ning for absolutely delicious Malaysian food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear undome,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    419
    222
    78
    40
See reviews for
87
337
127
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed at the Portland street Ibis (usually stay at Charles street) for one night midweek. It was spotless clean modern and very good value for money £49.40. Did`nt try breakfast but it looked very nice with plenty of choice and a good price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear claudie55,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great location close to the city centre. The first impression is of a modern slick design without a lot of space and that carries through to the rooms. The ensuite shower room is like a circular pod in the room which gives it a feeling of being a bit institutional. There's not a lot of room to manoeuvre in the pod. But it was clean and the bed was comfortable.
The breakfast area gets filled up very quickly. The choice is adequate.
The service was friendly and efficient. The use of the local car park for a discounted rate is a real boon. Personally, I found the high level of security (having to use keycards to access lifts and to even get into the hotel at night) I found quite off putting. Other Manchester hotels don't impose these measures.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Nirinmart,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the ibis Manchester Centre, Portland Street. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed overnight on Saturday 31st while taking my two girls to see 1 Direction. Apart from the air cooling not working and too few parking spaces under the hotel everything else was absolutely perfect. Ibis know their market and have the design, the service, and the food spot on!

Room Tip: Get directions first as finding anywhere in Manchester at the moment is a nightmare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Jane W,

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the ibis Manchester Centre, Portland Street. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street Hotel is located in the heart of the city. We are ideally located 5 minutes walk from MICC and 15 minutes from the Phones 4u Arena and Manchester Universities. Close to Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations and easily accessible from the airport by car or public transport. The vibrant surroundings offer a variety of restaurants and nightspots, with Canal Street just 2 minutes away. Book one of our 127 rooms and benefit from use of our bar offering snacks 24 hours plus FREE WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.