We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street to your Saves list
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great Location from Railway Station and Centre of Manchester. Staff very friendly and courtious. Clean bedroom with comfy beds. Would recommend.and hope to stay on any other visits to the City.
Mr D McGowan

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mr McGowan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    373
    202
    73
    35
See reviews for
75
313
120
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Myself and my partner were up in Manchester for a weekend away. We stayed at the Ibis and it was superb. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff (especially Olivia) were very pleasant and accommodating and the trip itself was overall really nice. If you are looking for clean, convenient, comfortable accommodation on a budget - this is the pace to go,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you and yor partner enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre. I would also like to thank you for your feedback with regards to the great service that you experienced from my colleague she is extremely delighted with your feedback. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Have stayed here several times before when in Manchester due to locality, price, cleanliness and comfy beds. While the bed was still very comfy and the extra pillows are welcome, we were very disappointed with the cleanliness. The bathroom smelt heavily of damp, there were grubby marks on the small seating area and on the windowsill. The window also did not appear to close properly which made it a bit drafty. In fact we had to keep the curtains closed. We didnt spend a lot of time in the room so it didnt really bother us enough to complain but i must admit we are wondering whether to stay here again. It just needs a bit brightening up and grubby things replacing. These budget hotels seems to be going the same way I wouldnt stay in a Travelodge anymore either the last couple of times they have been really grimy too!
The service, as always,was good at reception,cant fault that,and sleep quality was good. Communal areas seemed clean and tidy.
Just feel let down that our favourite budget hotel has got so run down!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis Manchester City Centre, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I have personally spoken to our Head Housekeeper regarding your experience and they are sincerely sorry for allowing this to happen. As I am sure you are aware, these are not our usual standards and I can assure you action has been taken to ensure they are not repeated.

Once again thank you for taking the time to give the hotel your valuable feedback and trusting that with the actions documented above we will have the pleasure of your company at Ibis Manchester Centre again very soon.

Kind Regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

a small but ok hotel. the room clean and beds very comfy. the bar and restarant small. the location good for shops and bars and the men arena, we saw donny and marie show very good show by the way recomend it. we will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Ms Bond,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast, northern ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while on a trip to Manchester with my boyfriend to see a Man Utd match. Couldn't fault the hotel for location and the rooms are great, for your basic budget hotel - comfy bed, spacious and clean! Couldnt have asked for more!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They were very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at the Ibis Manchester Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester in which I hope will be just as enjoyable.

Kind regards,
Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel as I said before looked fro
Outside amazing but as I checked in I was in a highest floor n lift was not working so I had to ri. Up and down during the night which was annoying the hotel manager at that time was very elofuk he did explain why the lifts do not wrk but when next morning I went downstairs ad said I she. Asked cr wake up all but obviously it would not happened cos in my room the phone was not working and the lifts where not working I left my boyfriend in a room cos he was sleeping and u went downstaires from 4floor to ground to asked all my things and also say to wake me up even the phone and lift do not work I was not making a big thing but thn u said cabbage ask housekeeper for some new towels but In stead she gave me towels and said they for you I was not disappointed but why I was upset cos I had to carry them upstartes as my self working in hotel I know how things work and I was just play for a fool I did not care as much my boyfriend did and as far as I know no one deat with us an I would recommend this hotel to no one I. Future juts because how they he dealt with me and my boyfriend by doing nothing not even talking tht they did jt let my boyfriend in at the first which was disappointing I understand he is not white but he could start court against being descrimineiting to other colour then rather white. Sorry I write this but it true.

Room Tip: They said if u want any thing u come dOwn states and get ad that times also lifts was hot working so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay in our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced with our lifts brake down and especially with your phones not working at the same time.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t understand your comments in regards to your boyfriend been discriminated, however please be reassured that this can not be right as we are such a multicultural team with members from many different ethnic backgrounds.

Nevertheless, I would very much like the opportunity to discuss this further and would appreciate if you were to contact me either by email on or telephone me on.
Yours sincerely,

Ioannis Koletakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street Hotel is located in the heart of the city. We are ideally located 5 minutes walk from MICC and 15 minutes from the Phones 4u Arena and Manchester Universities. Close to Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations and easily accessible from the airport by car or public transport. The vibrant surroundings offer a variety of restaurants and nightspots, with Canal Street just 2 minutes away. Book one of our 127 rooms and benefit from use of our bar offering snacks 24 hours plus FREE WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.