We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap stay in centre of Manchester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street to your Saves list
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Cowbridge
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good cheap stay in centre of Manchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is situated on a long street in the centre of town in which there are a number of similar chain hotels. The Ibis is spotlessly clean and although the room was a tad small it had everything I needed for a one night stay. The space pod bathroom was fun, and the shower terrific. The staff were typically friendly, and the price was cheap for the room only. Breakfast was OK the next morning but of course cost extra, and maybe £7.50 was a bit pricey. Car parking was extra too (£6.50 overnight) and is accessed around the back of the hotel via a small side street. Very easily booked on Hotels.com.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    373
    202
    73
    35
See reviews for
75
313
120
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with my boyfriend.

We chose this place largely due to its location, close to great places to eat, drink and wander round.

Quick no-fuss check in, friendly reception staff, modern looking foyer but once you get up to the 4th floor the place looks a bit tired. But this is a budget hotel, so you're paying for the location.

Having said that the room looked modern as well and was clean and comfortable, with all the basic essentials, including a hair dryer, extra pillows and tea and coffee making facilities, as well as hangers and a wardrobe. You will probably need the air-con on, but we hated the fan noise so slept without it which was a bit stuffy.

Very good shower.

Slightly annoying bathroom fan-noise too which we ended up blocking with toilet paper so no problem after that.

Didn't have breakfast here as it wasn't included and there are so many good places to eat near-by, but their times were generous, going from 6.30am to midday.

Check-out is nice and late at midday so there's no rush in the morning.

Would stay here again for the location

Room Tip: Rooms facing Portland Street will be pretty noisy with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Manchester Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here after the Stone Roses gig in Heaton Park, I thought my partner was joking when I saw the rooms, smaller than single beds, very basic, terrible bathroom and facilities. Cheap and not very cheerful! On the plus side, the bar stayed open quite late :-)

Room Tip: Stay in a Permier Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis Manchester City Centre, but I was very disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies and we are looking forward to wow you at your next visit.

Kind regards,
Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked the hotel through their website and paid GBP50 for one night stay (without breakfast) which was a good deal. The check-in process was easy and fast. The room is quite spacious. It comes with a closet, desk, bedside table, air cond, and coffee & tea facility. Room looked a bit tired/old however no sign or any dirt spots on the carpet/elsewhere. Bed sheet and towels looked clean and smelled good. The bathroom was spacious and clean. They provided bath gel & shampoo. The shower water pressure was good.

The location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located on Portland Street. We took a free bus from the Manchester Piccadilly and stopped right across the street from the hotel. From here we walked to Piccadilly Gardens where most of the busses and trams stops, about 5-10minutes away from the hotel. You can find few cafes and restaurants nearby. You can reach Chinatown about 5 minutes walk. Overall, was happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Manchester Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Shores, Florida
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Ibis is centrally located and easily walkable to most places in central Manchester. We had a room on the first floor facing the back. The room was adequate for a one night stay. The bathroom reminded me of something you might see on a ship, a little modular affair. Shower stall was great with instant hot water. The toilet needed a few flushes to make it work. The bed was too hard for me and a bit on the narrow side, but OK for one night.
The whole place was clean. The staff very efficient and professional.
The lobby is large and contains a bar and breakfast area.

Room Tip: The hotel faces a very bust street if you want quiet ask for a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street Hotel is located in the heart of the city. We are ideally located 5 minutes walk from MICC and 15 minutes from the Phones 4u Arena and Manchester Universities. Close to Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations and easily accessible from the airport by car or public transport. The vibrant surroundings offer a variety of restaurants and nightspots, with Canal Street just 2 minutes away. Book one of our 127 rooms and benefit from use of our bar offering snacks 24 hours plus FREE WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.