We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget can be done better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel to your Saves list
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charles Street | Princess Street, Manchester M1 7DG, England (Formerly Ibis Manchester Charles Street Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Budget can be done better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed here on business for two nights midweek, attending a conference at the University of Manchester. In terms of access to Oxford Road, the location is good, and it's easy to reach the local universities. As other reviewers have commented, the area directly surrounding the hotel isn't great, but I didn't experience any problems.

Having stayed here once before (sadly, I don't often get to choose which hotels I stay at on business), I was pleased to be given a room that faced Princess Street rather than facing the main road and train line, which I found to be rather noisy previously.

However, I then found I'd been placed in an accessible room (not requested) and this meant a large wet-room style bathroom where the shower flooded the rest of the bathroom floor. The room was in need of some serious redecoration - carpets, painting and fixtures on the walls were all substandard. There were a few plug sockets including two at the desk - though these were so low it was impossible to fit my laptop plug in - not a great design. The free wi-fi on offer in the rooms is pitifully slow, no doubt in order to persuade you to upgrade to the faster service.
Breakfast, which I went to on both days at around 8am, was rather chaotic - there weren't enough chairs and tables for the number of guests, the orange juice had run out on both days, and the single, painfully slow tea & coffee machine meant long queues and more crowding. The food was OK but no more - I would have expected more variety and higher quality for £8 per day - compared to a similar deal at most Premier Inns it was well off the mark.

Service at the front desk was friendly and generally smooth when checking in and out. If you want to leave bags after checking out, the hotel charge £2 per bag - this seems a little bit exploitative so I declined the offer.

On a brighter note, if you're looking for somewhere good to eat in the evening, you can't go wrong with the Indian restaurant next door - East Z East. It has won a number of awards and it's easy to see why.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the side of the hotel facing the train line - this tends to be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    298
    212
    63
    37
See reviews for
59
232
122
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very comfortable bed, good shower, clean rooms, breakfast was fine. Staff were very helpful. It's not the smartest hotel in Manchester, but was good value, and walkable from Piccadilly station and to the universities. Yes it's down a back street but not too far off the beaten track if you're used to cities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Hotel is in a run down area of Manchester with poor public lighting . Walking at night is required to reach the downtown area. The hotel is very basic even by Ibis hotel standards. There is only one computer in the lobby with no direct printer service . Very difficult to print out airline check in boarding sheet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We chose to stay here as the deal seemed good via Expedia.
On arrival the price of the room had dropped from £89 (which we prepaid) to £59.
We were advised that overnight parking in the public carpark opposite was £2 - which we thought was a great deal, usually you pay £16+. When we left the carpark the day after it was £10 - incorrect advice from the hotel reception.
The beds in the rooms are comfortable enough, however the upholstery was dirty and stained and there was rubbish on the floor under the bed.
The bathrooms are odd - they're like plastic units that have been dropped in to the rooms then plumbed in. Too much plastic, a door with gaps that doesn't shut, a shower that floods the floor and a toilet that didn't flush properly.
And the bedroom smelt of feet.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This IBIS hotel is conveniently central, but in a relatively quiet area (not a noisy place). Good rooms (in no nonsense IBIS style) with good beds at a very attractive rate. Breakfast is very good. The service is excellent: Warm welcome and friendly help with phone charger, printing boarding pass and luggage. This is a perfect deal for those who are looking for a central location and a reliable place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Reseption: Very helpful handing out map, lending adapter, ordering taxi with a smile.
Restaurant: Nice breakfast, delicate, clean, varied. A bit crowdy at 9am.
Room: A bit cold. When we started the heater it smelled awful. The aircondition in the bathroom was poor. As a result the air in the room was bad.
Overall a nice hotel

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Address: Charles Street | Princess Street, Manchester M1 7DG, England (Formerly Ibis Manchester Charles Street Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel is located on the corner of Princess St and Charles St, 5 minute walk from the heart of Manchester City Centre. Located next to the Manchester Conference Centre, the BBC & the Universities, the hotel is an excellent base whether visiting Manchester on business or for leisure. The Nightpsots of Canal St and bustling China Town are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Manchester
Hotel Ibis Manchester
Ibis Manchester
Manchester Ibis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.