We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night out in manchester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel to your Saves list
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charles Street | Princess Street, Manchester M1 7DG, England (Formerly Ibis Manchester Charles Street Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Night out in manchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great location & a good price. Car park right by the side of the hotel- you have to pay but that's the same for most places now in a city centre. Reception really helpful in ordering taxis & bar was open to serve us until we could take no more ale!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    298
    212
    63
    37
See reviews for
59
232
122
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel was booked pretty last minute as we needed a cheap base for going to see Tiesto & Calvin Harris. We weren't disappointed either! Check-in staff were really helpful & check-in was quick. Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking a road out the back of the hotel I guess but it was quiet. The bed was really comfortable, bathroom was an adequate size for what we needed it for, the shower was decent too. The breakfast in the morning is a must, it may seem expensive at first but you can eat/drink anything & it was a life saver for us before we entered the real world to walk back to Picadilly!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I tend to stay at Premier Inn or Travelodge - usually staying about four evenings a month, on average. I decided to give the Ibis range a try - stayed at the Ibis Budget at Salford Quays on the first occasion - better experience at Back-Packing hostels, I'm afraid. The bed was dreadful, causing my wife and myself substantial back pain for several days after. Consequently I chose not to take up my advance reservation at the Ibis Budget, Bradford.
I had a long-standing booking at the Ibis, Princess Street, Manchester and hoped for much better things - not so - very poor bed - very tired room; the bedside tables were quite lethal as they both tipped up with the slightest weight on them - fortunately this occurred with a glass of water and not a hot drink. A serious health and safety issue!
The lay-out of the room beggared belief for a modern hotel room.
No, we didn't register a complaint - we had with our previous Ibis experiences, to no avail. Just check out and walk on and don't go back - a motto which seems not to generate any concern with the hotel owners.

Room Tip: Avoid- the rooms are dreadful and the beds are appalling
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed two nights for just over £90 at weekend was a great offer, good location with car park across road and only cost £12 for two days stay - the room was clean but was a bit dated and bland, it had a few things that needed fixing, bedside table missing / one of the lights in bathroom did not work / some wood paneling was coming away- this did not spoil our stay but hotels should keep on top of maintenance. We overlooked a night club and it was fairly loud but stopped around 2am, it did not stop me from sleeping but it could be an issue. The receptionist informed us that breakfast was a continental at £7.95 each so we did not bother but found out you could get cooked buffet style as well.

Room Tip: Possibly avoid overlooking the night club at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating the breakfast information given to you accordingly.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumunster, Germany
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

ibis Manchester it turkey value for he money you spend with friendly staff, cleanly and tidy rooms. Well located allowing you to walk into the city centre. Breakfast was very good although it is an additional charge but convenient. Would most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Address: Charles Street | Princess Street, Manchester M1 7DG, England (Formerly Ibis Manchester Charles Street Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel is located on the corner of Princess St and Charles St, 5 minute walk from the heart of Manchester City Centre. Located next to the Manchester Conference Centre, the BBC & the Universities, the hotel is an excellent base whether visiting Manchester on business or for leisure. The Nightpsots of Canal St and bustling China Town are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Manchester
Hotel Ibis Manchester
Ibis Manchester
Manchester Ibis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.