We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spellbinding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Jewish Museum

Manchester Jewish Museum
190 Cheetham Hill Road, Manchester M8 8LW, England
44 161 8349879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 317 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum includes objects, documents, photographs and oral histories charting the stories and experiences of Manchester’s Jewish community, including their experiences during the Holocaust.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spellbinding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our first visit was several years ago when we visited with a friend from Germany who had specially asked to go there. We were ashamed to say, that despite living in Manchester all our lives, we had never previously visited. On the first visit a wonderful volunteer called Miriam held the three of us totally spellbound for twenty minutes giving us a vivid picture of what life must have been like for the early Jewish immigrants. The museum was originally a Sephardic Synagogue and is very beautiful. We are not Jewish but always recommend a visit to the museum for anyone visiting Manchester - an absolute jewel of a place!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really recommend a visit. Interesting to see how the culture has helped the growth of Mcr. Loved the architecture and the building itself. Is a must see for all school children........

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, little nugget of Jewish religeon/history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I really enjoyed our class RE trip to the Museum. Nice chap gave a informative talk on the history of Juwdaism which I loved, but seemed a tad lengthy for the children and some other members of staff. Lots of little hands on artifacts, information and some lovely displays in a small building. Great for RE topics for school and if you're a bit of an RE/history geek (like me) bit borning if you're not. I'd go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have visited this 'little gem of a museum' ,housed in ,what was one of Manchester's original Synagogue's , several times over the past few years . The permanent exhibits are very interesting and the Museum often mounts special exhibitions reflecting the life of the Manchester Jewish community past & present . The museum hosts school parties on a regular basis and providing lots for children to participate in . The staff and volunteers are welcoming , enthusiastic & and very knowledgable . I'd recommend it to anyone wishing to gain insight into Judaism .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“co-operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Welcomes everyone. Has knowledgeable guides to explain items on display to non Jewish visitors. Very educational and many schools of all denonimations visit. Displays vary, about local people and locations/entertainment by singers and musical groups.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manchester Jewish Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Manchester Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Jewish Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.