We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Australasia

Australasia
1 The Avenue | Spinningfields, Manchester M3 3AP, England (Manchester City Centre)
0161 831 0288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,640 restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $16 - $82
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manchester City Centre
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

No booking required during week - had an excellent meal and will definitely be coming back. Had a bit of a "tapas" style meal with a delicious array of dishes. We went for quite a few fish options - it was difficult to choose from such an extensive menu which was very different but could have picked everything! The waiter was amazing. The ipad he brought to the table with the menus was a first! Definitely try this restaurant. The service is great, it is comfortable, relaxed, and just a lovely experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    695
    277
    98
    56
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Friday lunch and drinks ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Love the place food outstanding service excellent we do not want to leave so we moved upstairs to the beautiful grand pacific xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“I thought I hated Japanese food - until I visited this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This restaurant is nothing short of extraordinary. The cocktails are to die for, and the food ..... Aah! I recommend going with friends and ordering loads of different things to share. Your taste buds won't quite believe it. The menu is extensive, varied, and sublime. The restaurant surroundings are plush and muted. A truly fabulous place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love Love Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The things I personally rate at a restaurant are food, ambience and service. I genuinely couldn't find fault with anything at Australasia. The waiter was fantastic and really helped us to make good choices from the menu. All the food was sublime and I will definitely be returning. First Class.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“More than a beautiful restaurant .. it's like attending an event!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This restaurant had been recommended to us by the staff at The Macdonald Townhouse Hotel, where we were staying. The staff there are all very discerning and know a good restaurant when they see one so off we went ..
Well, what a surprise in the middle of Manchester! First, you find the small glass pyramid, at street level, which is the entrance (Australasia amusingly written upside down on the glass!). You then descend to an astonishingly bright and beautifully decorated space that is contemporary and yet classic at the same time. At the top end of the restaurant, you can see the international chefs working on the dishes they are preparing ... they don't seem to mind people peering in on the way past which is fun to see.
The dishes themselves are so surprisingly arranged and unique in flavour that you will just have to go and see for yourself. Everything is delicately put together like a work of art on your plate. Two words of warning though - although my son enjoyed his dish I thought the squid ink, streaked across his plate was not for the squeamish (he ate, and enjoyed it, but I couldn't have ...) Also, if you want a great big steak and chips - don't go here. This is definitely a fine dining 'experience' to be savoured and made an evening or long lunch of. The staff are wonderfully smiling and well mannered and, all in all, I can't wait to go again. *Would not be good for young children.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australasia also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Australasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.