We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner With The News” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Australasia

Australasia
1 The Avenue | Spinningfields, Manchester M3 3AP, England
+44 161 831 0288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $23 - $117
Cuisines: Asian, European, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Modern Australian cuisine combines Pacific Rim flavours underpinned by European cooking tradition, a blend of Indonesian, Southeast Asian influences and Australia's strong ties with Japan also help determine the taste and style.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner With The News”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This former newspaper archive has been transformed into a fabulous underground eaterie. The exquisite cocktails on entry and the fabulous ambience and food, served up by attentive and friendly staff, made our evening one to remember.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    358
    119
    72
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A Luxury Evening In The Cellar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This fabulous restaurant is so well hidden it is as though they want to keep it a secret but once you have descended the glass sided staircase you enter a subterranean world of delightful flavours and aromas.

Our evening started with cocktails in the bar and continued in the large but intimate dining area. The choice of food was wide and varied and all four members of our party were happy and contented having sampled a wide variety of the tastes and flavours from the substantial menu. The quality of service was excellent and the staff did all they could to make our evening extra special.

If eating here allow yourself plenty of time to soak up the atmosphere as some things are just too good to rush!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The restaurant can be difficult to locate as it is situated below ground; but once you know what to look for - a beautiful glass triangle illuminated with yellow lights over the entrance you are there.
It is very well worth the effort of finding. We were warmly greeted and shown to our table by a beautiful attendant very smartly dressed and very chic. The room is gorgeously furnished with comfortable seating and beautiful lighting which is turned down at a certain time. The menu was carefully explained by our friendly waiter, it is a little different from the usual menu in that the starters or 'little plates' are designed to be shared, so we ordered what we thought was a good all round selection and there wasn't one we did not like. The tempura vegetables are superb and very eye catching, like a flower pot of ice lollies! Our main courses were equally tasty and visually exemplary. The wines we chose we not over priced but very good quality. I would love to go again, perhaps a good reason to explore the designer shops around the restaurant pre dinner?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Impressive night spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place, every time we visit the staff are superb, attentive, professional..... The bar staff are knowledgable and informative, food is excellent and the atmosphere is relaxed. Recommended. In the evening it has the right mix of music, atmosphere, a nice clientele. Can't fault Australasia at the moment, it's never overcrowded but attracts the right kind if people. .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurlstone
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place, great staff, great food :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Fantastic looking place just off Deansgate, the glass entrance looks spectacular as does the interior styling. Very helpful staff made our evening most enjoyable.
We had booked a table, good move as the place was very lively considering it was only a tuesday night. The 3 of us decided on a selcetion of the tapas dishes but also order the Wagyu fillet main as a sharing dish (had to try it out!). They had an excellent choice of wines and cocktails but as the driver for the evening I was most impressed with the selection of infused waters.
All the dishes were great - Standouts were the mackerel in banana leaves and the chicken skewers. The wasabi pork salad was the only one I wouldn`t order again (tasted fine but a little heavy on the mayo style wasabi dressing we thought). At £60 was the Wagyu worth it??? Well.... Yes, it was a delicious piece of beef, super-soft cut of steak, really well cooked and full of flavour. I wouldn`t make a habit of ordering this unless I win the lotto but it was great to try it.
We thought it was reasonable value - £170 for 3 of us but that was £60 worth of beef + wine + cocktails.
Can`t wait to go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australasia also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Australasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.