We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants ever! A fantastic experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Australasia

Australasia
1 The Avenue | Spinningfields, Manchester M3 3AP, England
+44 161 831 0288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,756 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $24 - $118
Cuisines: Asian, European, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Modern Australian cuisine combines Pacific Rim flavours underpinned by European cooking tradition, a blend of Indonesian, Southeast Asian influences and Australia's strong ties with Japan also help determine the taste and style.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants ever! A fantastic experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

From the moment you arrive and descend the stairs, (this restaurant and bar are underground), the atmosphere of the place grabs you. The cocktail bar at the front was jumping and at 8 pm they were turning people away so I would suggest you book!
The friendliness of the staff was incredible, this is a restaurant that could rest on its laurels a bit, but Tom who served us was extremely knowlegdable about both the menu and the wine list, including recommending some very good wines. The only comment is the champagne list is a bit light, but there are a good number of very fine Australian wineson offer, it was just that this was my girlfiend's birthday, hence the champagne.
The food is available two ways, a starter and main course or sharing plates in the middle of the table. We went for a mixture of both and shared starters. As each dish was delivered it was explained to us, and tips were given as to how best enjoy the food. Although the restaurant was full we all felt that we received the right amount of service from Tom, and at no point were any of us looking for a waiter.
The main courses were sublime, I had the steak and it was just delicious. But the highlight of the evening were the desserts, would recommend the souffles they were worth the wait. They also took the time to inscribe happy birthday on my partners plate, and knew who to deliver it to, those touches put this restaurant above many others.
Oh, and also, try one of the cocktails, especially one that has "smoky" in the title, the whole theatre of how these are presented is amazing.
My only gripe, and it is a small one but hopefully the restaurant will read this, being an "English Knight" I would expect that ladies would be served first, this did not happen and was actually quite noticable.
Overall a fantastic experience, and we will return to Manchester just so we can return here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    357
    118
    71
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shame about the main course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have visited Australasia on a couple of previous occasions but I was really disappointed with my last visit. We took my parents for a special occasion and the starter of tempura was up to the usual standard which you could not fault along with the excellent service. However two of the party ordered sirloin steak and as we were a late sitting it did take a while to arrive but when it did the steak which had been ordered to be cooked medium was almost burnt and was quite clearly rump steak. When we told the waiter he seemed uninterested and we were asked if we wanted a desert which we did and it was lovely however the meal was spoiled by the main course. I would recommend anybody requiring the best steak in town to go to Gaucho which is where we will be heading next time. Which is a shame as the bar service and cocktails was excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best restaurant I have ever eaten in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Excellent atmosphere, excellent service from when we arrived to when we collected our coats at the end of the evening. Food was exceptional. Waiting on staff were knowledgeable about the menu and happy to take the time to advise regarding some of the more unusual dishes. Despite all tables being full and with people still arriving for food at 10pm we never felt like we were being chased off our table. Very handy taxi rank outside also. Would definitely go back and highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food - but more attention to style and concept than great cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Australasia is a great place to go for a night out. We went on a Thursday evening and the place was buzzing. The design of the restaurant is very attractive and the staff attentive throughout. For the price though - around £40 per head for a 6 small plates and a bottle of wine - I didn't think the food was as good as it could have been. We had some sushi, squid tempura, cripsy beef, scallops and chicken skewers. All were pleasant, but didn't blow me away. Still - we'd go back, which is the most important thing after all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Words cannot state how good the meals are here. Been several times and it just keeps getting better and better

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australasia also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Australasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.