We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't touch with a very large barge pole” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mitre Hotel to your Saves list
Mitre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
newcastle upon tyne
1 review
“don't touch with a very large barge pole”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

Booked a twin room for an over night stay to see celine dion at the MEN. Apart from the excellent location to this venue, shops rail station the hotel was a total let down. We had to fight our way through football supporters crowding the bar watching a match to get to the reception. Our room was on the very top floor the stairways were steep, filthy and decor appalling. Once we reached our room, the room itself was big but the noise from the pub outside (with over 100 people) was unbearable. The kettle didn't reach the plug, the bathroom was absolutely minging, the floor tiles grubby and stained. Getting ready to go out, I turned on the shower.........freezing water. I rang reception and was told to give it 20 mins. I gave it half hour and still not a touch of even warm water. Again I rang reception and was told to use the bathroom along the corridor as there was def hot water there. There was not. Telephoning reception for the 3rd time and complaining this was unacceptable, the manager came up fiddled with the shower and then left leaving a muddy wet floor and saying he wasn't sure what the problem was.
The only good thing was the concert ,celine was fantastic. I couldn't wait to leave this grubby, horrible so called hotel. I refused to pay the price we were quoted and instead gave them £40 for two of us which was still a rip off. PLEASE take note and DO NOT stay even if it is just a place to get yr head down. this hotel should be shut down under health and safety.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — shower, decor, amenities, noise, grubbiness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    151
    118
    72
    87
See reviews for
44
160
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
The only good thing i could say is the bedding was clean.
The curtains were hanging off the hooks. Internal rooms overlook a dirty internal court. The floors are at a slant. The stairs are very narrow. Very difficult in getting suitcase up the stairs. No plug in the sink. Dirty floors in the bathroom .To top it all a strange call into my room at 11.30pm.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Fabulous location and great looking building right in the centre of Manchester but not great when you get inside! The decor is tired to the point of exhaustion, beds were uncomfortable and hot water in the shower was very hit and miss (much more miss than hit). If you just want somewhere to crash right near the shopping (and next door to the fabulous Harvey Nichols restaurant) then you should be OK but I wouldn't recommend it. The room we had was overlooked by the ferris wheel so remember to close the curtains (!) and it also overlooks a a pub garden too so I imagine that it would probably be quite noisy on a summer's evening. The staff were very friendly and helpful though and as I said - you couldn't have a more central location.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The standard of the rooms and lack of hot water
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

A bit dated and cramped in places, but adequate.

Not as bad as some of the reviews here suggest, its not the best in town, but very very cheap. Its OK.

I had a very cheap room on very top floor,dated furniture, had basin in room, but no toilet or shower, but hey it was £30, including breakfast.

Main problem is NO car park.

Great for very cheap city centre accomodation for 1-2 nights say.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Me and my brother stayed at Mitre during a fotball weekend in Manchester. The hotel was easy to find and is just a short walk from Victoria station. The hotel is ok, but not more. The rooms are quite spacious and clean. The bathroom was my biggest issue. The shower was just....urk!
Breakfast was not a big success, you could choose from an english breakfast or cereals...that was it.
The walls/doors are not isolated so one night when there was a wedding party at the hotel you could hear the people runnig up and down the stairs and knockin doors, really annoying.

Another "funny" thing about the hotel that after seven o'clock the close the reception door. So if you want to get in you have to go through the hotel bar. Weird!
When we was checking out the man at the reception told us that the room wasn't paid for even though I showed him the hotel voucher and reciept that I had. I stood up for myself and was very persistant that I wasn't going to pay them TWICE. Eventually he gave up and said that it was ok.

The good thing about this hotel is that is it VERY centrally located. It is just in front of the Manchester cathedral. Harvey Nichols, The Triangle and Selfridges are just a stroll from the hotel. If you are not that fastidious about you're hotel then I would recommend Mitre. But if you more used to nice hotels with service and comfort like a 5* then this is NOT the hotel for you.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

This place is a complete hovel, staffed by people you may have seen on the Trisha Show. I'm generally pretty tolerant, but this place was grim and I couldn't wait to leave the next morning. Definitely one to avoid, unless you fancy a grimy room complete with pubes and the stench of stale fags, which has a manky toilet and most likely a TV that won't work.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — the pubes
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Lancashire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

I booked this hotel with laterooms.com. There were lots of unfavourable reviews but I got the room for £22.95 so I couldn't complain. I am glad that I wasn't put off by the bad reviews.
The room was very clean. I received a double room even though I had booked a single room online. The location is excellent - right in the centre of Manchester and 5 minutes walk from Victoria Rail Station. We got back to the hotel and were able to get drinks up to midnight.

  • Liked — Value for Money
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.