We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mitre Hotel to your Saves list
Mitre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not the best.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is the first time I've had so many negatives with a hotel but first I'll start with the positives. Great location right in the centre and near good shops, clean beds with comfy mattresses, modern decor even though the building it's self is old, breakfast was ok, nice sausages. Staff very friendly.
Now the negatives. Our room had no tv, telephone or toilet/ensuite. When the tv issue was raised, the staff member was surprised and wondered where it had gone to. We were on the top floor so taking the suitcases all the way up the stairs was hard work. The shared toilet was very unpleasant with no heating, shabby showers and marks all down the walls. No paper towels or anything to dry your hands on when you'd been in there. You had to remember to take your room towel in with you...which I forgot to do every time. No mirror in one of the bathrooms. And in our room there was only a small mirror which was miles away from the plug, so hairdryers and straightners didn't reach the mirror.
The curtains were moving around when I woke up because of the draughts through the window.
There was blood on the handrail on the stairs as we went down for breakfast and it was still there as we checked out. Health and safety issue there.
If you just want a place to lay your head with no great expectations..then it's ok. If you want a lovely hotel experience...which you could get at the same price...then book somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    134
    111
    71
    85
See reviews for
39
150
53
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a very unpleasant stay in this poor excuse for a hotel. Room was disgusting, staff were rude...some of the rudest I have ever come across and the food was absolutely shocking! Drinks are also very over priced. The mitre should be paying people to stay there! Don't have a single good thing to say about the place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room was very basic and not particularly clean, there were also small issues such as the remote to the television not working. The shared bathroom areas were not clean at all, there was no toilet roll in one of them and used soap in the bottom of the shower!
The hotel is very noisy, every step you make the floorboards creak and you can hear every other guest walking around. The floors are also on really strange angles making it difficult to walk around, especially when carrying a suitcase! One of my biggest issues was that If you are on the top floor the wifi does not reach! This was particularly annoying as I had work emails to answer and had to sit in the reception area to do this.
The staff who checked me in and was there on an evening was lovely, however the girl who worked on the mornings was rude and unfriendly. I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance to the city centre and it is convenient to the Arena. The breakfast was average and the person serving was polite.

However, our stay was awful. The room had no heating and the staff was very rude and unhelpful.There was no solution to the heating problem, we were told the heating was not working and there was nothing they could do about it. The toilet was not stable, it moved when you sat on it. The tap on the face basin was also loose and spin around when you tried opening it. The room had no table/desk and no lamp. The TV remote was attached to a very short cord, hence you has to stay in a certain place to see the TV. The floors were squeaky.

Room Tip: The top floor maybe because the entire floors are very squeaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived Thursday 21st Feb and we were upgraded to Triple with En-Suite.....the location of this hotel is just perfect for MEN Arena and shopping as Arndale literally across the road !! Staff were extremely pleasant and very very helpful and our room was perfect for overnight, nice and clean and newly decorated.......Please do not listen to the absolute garbage people put on here about this hotel - I stay at 5* hotels usually, last 2 times in Manchester we stated at The Lowry when we saw Coldplay and prior to that Radisson Edwardian when we saw Take That.....I will be booking in to The Mitre each time we come back to Manchester....Room No 4 please !!!! Give this hotel a go people....it's quaint, a little hidden gem in a perfect location and 200 years old so appreciate its character !!! Xxxx

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed last night at the mitre.What a hidden gem. situated right in centre near harvey nichols. We had a room facing the cathedral. The room was lovely and very clean. We were made to feel very welcome straight away. Didnt have breakfast as we were rushing for train but we could have paid to have it if we wanted too. Will def stay again a bargain at 39 pounds for room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

After booking this hotel for just under £200 we were pleased with our booking. The website was professional and the hotel was described as a 'boutique hotel' with close amenities. We booked this hotel to stay in while over in Manchester to watch a Manchester United match, our Christmas Present to each other. This isn't a typical, spoilt view of a hotel this is an honest, practical view and it is short and sweet, do not stay here! We arrived at 8 o clock in the morning, found the hotel and went to see if we could leave our bags and maybe check in early, the girl looked at us, made us leave our bags in front of the reception desk (no security) and told us our room wasn't ready, although she never took our name or knew what type of room it was we had booked, in fact how did she know we had even made a booking? We returned at 2 o'clock exhausted and ready for a sleep, we were placed in room 15, up a set of stairs, down a set of stairs and up another set of stairs. The landings within the hallway were angeled and we really had to concentrate while carting our two suitcases and two hand luggage bags on this trek( there is no lift). When we entered this room we were disgusted!!! the carpet did not fit the floors, the white walls were smeared with make up, the bathroom was so small that im surprised anyone had the ability to shower in it, there was no bath. There were holes in the base unit of the sink, old reused wood covered the electricals in the corner of the room and the lights at the side of the bed didnt work. The old creeky floor in this place was at such an angle that you had to resposition your footing when walking from the door to the window as it was practically uphill!! and the bed reflected this as one side of the double bed was significantly lower than the other. There was an old bedside table holding a tray with a kettle and the kettle was nearly falling off the table becuase it was placed at such an angle. The huge tv on the wall was perhaps the most modern thing in the room. This feature was placed straight on the wall above the table holding the kettle in order to make the rest of the room seem straight but it only highlighted the slant in floor, alongside the two inch gap under one side of the door. The bedding was unclean and i felt itchy as soon as i sat on it, this stopped when i stood up! We experienced all this within 30 minutes of entering our room. We then had to call my father to get his credit card details and book into the Mercure Hotel in Portland Street, a hotel we had stayed in before.
The Mitre hotel is awful! I wouldnt wish it on anyone, especially not those like myself and my partner who had to save a lot for this weekend and thought we were booking the best we could afford!

Room Tip: Stay at the Mercure Hotel in Portland Street, the most accomodating, professional, comforting hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.