We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, very clean, and peaceful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Pendulum Hotel to your Saves list
The Pendulum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly, very clean, and peaceful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst in Manchester on Buisness, I found the place very pleasant indeed, and I shall not hesitate in returning, easy walking distance to the city centre, easy parking, an all round good Hotel !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to write them on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    387
    204
    76
    46
See reviews for
70
333
105
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights. Good location - only 5 min walk to Piccadilly Station and 15 min walk to the City Centre. Room was very clean, free Wi-Fi , biscuits, tea & coffee facilities available. There was also an iron and ironing board in the room. Excellent breakfast .
The Staff where helpful and friendly .



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with fru.pl

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay. I will pass your comments onto the team and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

suited my requirements not far from city centre . just needed place for sleep . staff very pleasant helpful had breakfast one morning saved hunting the streets plenty of choice have as little or a lot as you wanted ,also restaurant .for evening meal if required . downstairs bar which also served snacks useful . . also from 9,30 pm -7am room service available for snacks drinks ,..room adequate had all you needed use it again may do

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and I will share your comments with the team. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Don`t book the student rooms you get what you pay for, very very basic rooms kettle/tea/coffee & towels, bed which is uncomfy (seen the rooms had a friend stay in one) The hotel rooms are clean & comfortable with tea/coffee facilities, nice fluffy towels, soap wash, iron & ironing broad, hairdryer, TV, phone. The bed was very comfy & nice to have a very dark room to sleep in, found the hotel quiet at night. The bathroom was clean but a bit shabby in areas. Breakfast: there is plenty to choose from different teas/coffees, fresh orange, fruit, cereals, pasteries, bread, full English breakfast. There`s a bar at the front of the hotel sells hot & cold drinks & snacks there`s tables & chairs with very large parasols outside the front of the hotel. The bar is nice & there`s outside seating too, food can be ordered until 1030pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review we appreciate your feedback. I will pass on the comments regarding the bathroom to our maintence team and we hope to seeing you again next time you are in Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

we stayed here on saturday 10th august just for one night two couples, on arrival a little early we asked if we could check in the man on reception was very polite and friendly has they was only one of our rooms ready we just put all our bags in the one room till later. we used the car park just next door was surprised that it only cost us £4 for the full 24hrs. we was pleasantly surprised with this hotel for the price we paid, our room was spacious and very clean the other couples room was a little smaller but still very clean (they was a little too hot) that was only thing wrong with this hotel, all staff was friendly and the bar was relaxing and the comment from that last review about the mixer with the drink on arrival we was given a welcome sheet and if they had read it in brackets its states coke/lemonade. the breakfast was lovely everything from cereals to fresh fruits to cooked breakfast everything you need.would defiantly would use this hotel again, thankyou for lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had the unfortunate experience of staying at this hotel on Thursday evening, 8th August, in room 505. The staff were polite and friendly but I am afraid that is where the good side of this hotel ends.
We entered our room (cupboard) which had a double bed sandwiched into it and a fan in the window which I presume was supposed to make it cooler. The choice of TV channels was very restricted and it was used mainly to drown out the noise outside our window. Nowhere in your literature does it warn about the noise which was made by the students in the Student Accommodation rooms directly below our room. They were only silenced at about 11.30pm. Unfortunately the students returning to their rooms at 3am decided to make another row waking us both. The room also remained very hot all night and the noise of the fan made us have a very restless night irrespective of the students.
We spent some time in town and returned to the hotel and decided to go to the Conservatory Bar for a drink. I ordered a pint of bitter and a coke. The coke was poured but the beer was flowing very slowly. I told the barperson that the gas had run out. He told me it did not use gas. When he checked he said sorry but the gas had run out but would have to wait for a supervisor to change it. This took 25 minutes!!!!!! It would have been rude of me to leave as my partner had started their drink. Later on we returned to the bar for a nightcap, after drinks in town. I decided to take up the advertised offer of a double whisky and mixer for £2.50. Unfortunately, again, the advertisement did not tell me, nor did the barperson, that their idea of a mixer is anything from the mixer post (lemonade or coke). I ordered a Dry Ginger. I have worked in the bar trade for many years and all bars I know recognise a Tonic, a Dry Ginger, a Bitter Lemon as a MIXER! They need to make the offers legally correct and not misleading. I am sure that Trading Standards would agree. Consequently, I paid £7.50 for a double and dry and half a pint of coke. Extortionate considering the advertised price!!!!!
Take note that they offer breakfast for £7.95 but next door a good bar offers a full English for £3.
Overall, the experience of staying at this 3 star hotel extremely disappointing. I doubt that I shall ever return and spoilt what was a birthday treat!

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here ask for a room which does not face the sun and that is furthest from any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your most recent stay with us and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.
I would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests. We do strive to deliver excellent customer service at all times which it appears we did not achieve and we hope that you will allow us to redeem our reputation and choose to stay with us again in the future.

If you wish to discuss any of the issues you had during your stay in please email on jalelg@days-mcc.co.uk with a note of your contact details and I will make arrangements to contact you.

Kind regards
Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at days hotel Manchester From 26 TO 29 OF JULY 2013,Very nice hotel staff very nice and buffet breakfast was great and sunday breakfast up to 11.30 am .Double standard rooms are small and hot were as double classic rooms and twin rooms are much bigger.10 minute walk from picadily train station and city centre.BAR/LOUNGE at the back of hotel which is a conservertory.BAR/LOUNGE is beatiful very relaxing also do nice bar food.Altogether a great weekend staying at this hotel,no complaints at all Would stay at this hotel again for sure Days Hotel is also known as the mcc-MANCHESTER CONFERENCE CENTRE.very busy hotel THANKS TO ALL HOTEL STAFF IT WAS GREAT.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us from which I was very pleased to learn that you found everything to be very good.

I hope that we can continue to live up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel for your next visit in the not too distant future.

Regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pendulum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.