We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover for Old Trafford” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chesters Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chesters Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Chesters Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   730 Chester Road, Old Trafford, Manchester M32 0RS, England (Formerly Chester Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great stopover for Old Trafford”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed here 2 nights Friday & Saturday. Got a great last minute deal for Friday in Mini-suite Room 25 which was great - it had everything we needed inc. large bed, big TV, iron & board, trouser press and quite a nice bathroom - only thing missing was a small fridge to chill drinks. On th eSaturday we were moved to Room 23 which was alot smaller and twin beds - take your earplugs if light sleeper because its on a busy road.

We only had breakfast in hotel which was fine, it doubles up as a restaurant in the evening with late food served as well afetr events. The hotel was clean and if you like Man Utd Room 25 has a semi view of Old TRafford - we are Man City fans so were not impressed by that.

The reason for our stay here was after our afternoon Man City match (got a taxi to Eastlands cost of £9.50), we returned to the hotel to go to a Coldplay concert which was held at Old Trafford Cricket grounds - a stones throw away from the hotel, so if you are attending Old Trafford FC or OTCC you couldn't be better placed for accomodation. There are pubs in the vicinty too.

Getting into town centre would be via tram or taxi - both easy to do.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    77
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
25
64
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

A two-night stay for theTake That concert.

An excellent room, room 11 on the first floor which had the added advantage of a
mini-corridor taking you into the room - giving you more privacy.

Ample parking, great breakfast, handy location, excellent service - we will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

Chesters is perfect for watching the football, they have a car park and its a 2 minute walk to the stadium, the hotel is nice and I would stay there again however.

The recepionist was awful, she booked us in for dinner without telling us it was a £25 pp match night 4 course menu, which we didnt want, when we realised had dinner in the bar, the steak was amazing.

My only problem with the hotel was the noise from other rooms, we were on the 1st floor and we could hear everything and I mean everything from the people above us, footsteps, their TV, them talking and even them turning a plug on it was ridiculous they have to do something about it - I would recommend this hotel but ask for a high floor and take some ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

WOW what a hotel you arrive in old trafford tired and hungry and then you walk in to this jewel i thought the place was lovely the staff excellent and the steaks were the best ive eaten in many a year absolutelly spotless hotel with staff who go the extra mile to make sure your stay is memorable i will reccomend this hotel to everyone friends and business colleuges alike one of the best small hotels ive stayed in i couldnt rate this hotel any higher well done to everyone

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

Hi, I based my stay on the reviews written on this site, are these people refering to the same hotel??? Whilst the hotel is not bad, it is in need of a total revamp. The rooms remind me of a bed and breakfast (brown wooden fire doors). The decor is totally outdated and the bar feels like soemones front room. The service was good and the staff were nice and the hotel is close to the city centre, but based upon the price I expeted much better facilities and decor. The rooms are setup in a maze and the carpets smell. I would definately not stay here again, it looks like soemone has converted a big house into a hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the facilites
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

very pleasant hotel close to cricket ground. clean and comfortable. good breakfast, friendly service. east to get into manchester city centre via public transport

  • Liked — location for purpose
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale, greater manchester, england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

booked to stay at this hotel so we could watch a show at the lowery and have a nice relaxing evening without having to rush to get the last train home.

the hotel was exeptional value for £70 b&b with the rooms, reception and bar/restraunt areas very nicely decorated and all the staff were curtious and helpfull.
the room had an enormous bed and the was a lot bigger than some of the places ive stopped in before.
the full breakfast was also a very high standard and even tho we did not have an evening meal there we got told this also was excellent.
the location is perfect for exploring being very close to the queys and the many metrolink stations which can get you to central manchester in less than 15 mins.
all in all a great hotel, willl deff use again.

  • Liked — full english breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chesters Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesters Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 730 Chester Road, Old Trafford, Manchester M32 0RS, England (Formerly Chester Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chesters Hotel and Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chesters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesters Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesters Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.