We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After well over 30 stays the V & A never disappoints me!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“After well over 30 stays the V & A never disappoints me!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stayed in all of the big chain hotels in Manchester, as well Manchester's 2 five star hotels and the Marriot V and A comes top. I have stayed at the V and A over 30 times over the last few months and the rooms are great value for what you get, the staff are friendly and attentive and always make me feel like its my 2nd home. The food has always been very good and breakfast in my opinion is one of the best hotel breakfasts in Manchester with a good selection, whilst sitting down at your table over looking the river. The rooms are cosy and quite on either side of the hotel. The rooms have always been spotless and the beds are so comfortable. Some of the rooms are due for a refresh, however nothing too major. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Springfield restaurants/shops and a 10 minute work to city centre. Secure valet parking is £16 or you can park in the public car park next to the hotel for £8. You can't really moan as all the Manchester city centre hotels charge for parking. I don't understand people rating this hotel 1 to 3 as after all my stays I have never had any issues and have never seen any staff who are rude or don't seem to care. They clearly haven't stayed in all the other Manchester hotels. Thank you to all the staff, especially the reception team and the gentleman from concierge that always gives me a warm welcome. Mr D'Alessio

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    295
    99
    41
    31
See reviews for
84
352
38
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed two nights here recently to attend an all-day meeting in Manchester. We just chose the closest hotel to the meeting as we knew it would be a long day but we really struck lucky with this place. A large converted warehouse right next to the River Irlam, the hotel certainly looks impressive as you drive onto the property and inside wasn't a disappointment.

We had a twin room with two good-sized very comfortable beds so which could easily suit a family. It was decorated and furnished to a high standard and the original brickwork and beams were exposed, which I thought was charming. The bathroom was clean and more than adequate but I have to say some of the fittings were a little dated in comparisons to the rest of the room/ hotel.

We had great meals in the restaurant each evening as dinner was part of our deal and I must say we were delighted by the value and quality of the food. The staff there were particularly pleasant and efficient, I must say the way a particularly tricky customer in the restaurant at the same time as us was dealt with was a master class in how to handle such situations. The buffet breakfast was also of a high standard.

Valet parking was offered but as I needed to get an early dart on the morning of departure, I chose to park myself at the NCP adjacent to the hotel for £8 per 24 hours, which I think is very reasonable. My only complaint about this was that I could only pay for a day at a time and had to return to the car park and buy a second ticket. Of course this isn't the fault of the hotel but I do think they could do some sort of deal with the car park where residents can pay parking fees for the length of their stay. Just a minor gripe, though.

I would highly recommend this hotel for business and leisure and hope to return at some point, perhaps for a weekend exploring Manchester.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed for one night due to attending a wedding. This hotel is a converted warehouse and credit to Marriot as they have done a superb job in turning it into a hotel with lots of character. The reception and bar area are very inviting. The room was not the biggest but had excellent furnishings and the wooden beams added that extra bit. But beware if you are over six feet tall you will be ducking a lot of the time. The ceilings are low as are the wooden beams. The bed was ultra comfy and I slept like a log. Location is good for spinning fields and as it is on the outskirts of the centre it doesn't suffer from traffic noise. It's about a five to ten minute walk to main shopping areas. Salford central train station is very close and metro link St. Peter's square is about a ten minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Having stayed previously in this hotel and lived in manchester in the interim 7 years we decided to make this hotel our last night in manchester before emigrating.
The hotel is well located near spinning fields and is a short walk to plenty of restaurants and bars. Large comfy bed and lots of toiletries provided. Had a suite so luxury of a bit extra room which was great (infant spookily the same room as we had had 7 years previously). Should note that gym facilities are available but off site so a short walk, and Internet is an expensive additional cost item.
The hotel were helpful in assisting us with the collection of our excess baggage by a excess baggage company

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in the Victoria and Albert for one night in September 2013. The staff were professional throughout and check in was complete in less than two minutes. Arrived early morning before check in but leaving our bags with the concierge was no issue and allowed us to explore Manchester without having to lug our baggage.
This is a converted warehouse and so has lots of character - including low ceilings which means the shower head is at neck height. Beds amazingly comfortable.
Breakfast was good, although no sign of poached egg. Also as a vegetarian it was disappointing to see that veggie sausages were not offered. We did ask our waiter however he just replied that it was all self service.
A hotel pitching itself at this quality really should have a pool and gym in house, avoiding the walk up the road! With so many great restaurants in Manchester we did not even consider dining at the hotel.
Area felt safe, and the free city centre bus (route 2) stops as the museum of science and industry which is a short walk away. Would return if price is right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Worst hotel I have stayed in Manchester. Had to wait for lunch 45 mins, wine glasses had lipstick on, staff in general very poor, if you want a swim you have to walk down the road. 4 star what a joke.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for one night only, very good reception staff made it a swift check in process. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The hotel seems to be converted from and old warehouse or similar and surprisingly for a big hotel chain it has bags of character, wood beams are everywhere and the hotel has been designed sympathetically around them. As with all Marriots it is pricey for food and drinks, but the service was good and we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Business Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel exudes a historical charm that appeals to business and leisure travelers. Located across from Granada Television Studios and a pleasant stroll to the Opera House and Palace Theatre, this luxury hotel in Manchester was first built as a warehouse in 1844. The £5.2 million renovation in 2005, displays the old architectural detail with contemporary flair, comfort and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.