We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night on a child-free weekend break. The hotel itself was lovely, lots of exposed old beams and iron pillars (it's an old warehouse). It's a bit more unique than the usual chain hotel. All the staff we encountered were friendly:check-in, concierge, housekeeping, restaurant and bar. The hospitality tray was a bit sparse when we first arrived, but no sooner had we asked for further supplies than housekeeping was at the door with more teabags etc than we realle needed. The king size room was lovely, good responsive heating system, very clean with a nice bathroom. The bed was comfy and I slept like a log.
Breakfast was ok, not the best I have ever had in a hotel. The fresh fruit was lovely but the cereal choice was limited and the ones I chose tasted like sawdust. However, the cooked breakfast was good and so was the fresh bread.
The location is good for central Manchester, only a 10 minute walk or so.
We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    295
    99
    41
    31
See reviews for
84
352
38
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great location just minutes from shops, bars etc.
Very nice entrance and lobby but room booked still not available at 3.30pm which is a bit late but they upgraded us which was a nice touch so no complaints.
Room was large with two double beds, very clean and modern as was the bathroom, only criticism poor hospitality tray. Beds were incredibly soft which I thought would be a problem but I slept like a babe and felt like I was on a cloud not a squeak or creak all night in fact hotel was very quiet.

Restaurant however a different matter, my husband had the set menu which he said was ok but hot thrilling and I ordered from the a la carte - big mistake. Firstly the menu was dogeared and grubby, some items not available but not told until after you ordered. Overall think enthusiastic amateur not chef, heavy handed seasoning, tough cold meat and its accompaniment yet scalding hot veg. We both ordered cheese as the dessert but were again disappointed as only two small wedges one yellow and one reddish colour both absolutely tasteless.

Breakfast was no better in fact it was the worst breakfast I have every eaten in any establishment. Poor choice of cereals, continental items, cooked breakfast comprised of cold over stewed mushrooms, cold bacon, undercooked crumbled hash browns, cold over cooked beans - dreadful. Bearing in mind breakfast should be £17.50 each laughable.

If it had just been the evening meal we might have considered staying here again but with that breakfast no way.

Service wasn't very good either staff very friendly but wandering around aimlessly either over attentive whipping away items not yet done with or forgetting what you asked for ie bread rolls or butter etc. Think they are self trained.

If you do have to stay here only eat items that do not involve the chef ie yogurt

Room Tip: Top floor of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

As a Marriott Member and having been a guest here with my wife and friends many times over 20 years I expected a better room. (Paid £159 !!!) for a small room (no mini bar but didn't want one - the cupboard was an empty void) especially as the hotel was nowhere near full. Woke and opened the curtains to find a painter's face looking in at me who was standing on the scaffolding (we were on the 4th floor), could have been embarrassing. Breakfast average. One of only 2 slow lifts was not working.
Staff excellent, location to centre of Manchester and Opera House Theatre excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been down Deansgate that side of Manchester before and never come across this hotel until I booked it through a 3rd party website and realised where it was. The hotel is a old warehouse converted into a lovely hotel. The reception is realy classy yet with a modern twist and our room 325 was lovely it was a deluxe room and it was definatly well worth the rate we paid. It was my birthday too so they left a birthday card in the room for me, which I thought was a lovely little gesture. The room had a kingsize bed and a sofa and a chair so it was really big. There was one thing that I didnt like which the hotel couldnt help but the ceilings are really really low. Im 6ft 2 tall and I couldnt have a shower without having to bend my head. Would stay there again happily

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Manchester Marriott in many ways differs from your typical hotel of this chain. It is located in a repurposed mid-19th century warehouse. This gives it a special charm, which I always like. E.g. the wooden beams supporting the structure are visible in the ceiling of many public spaces. Also, the hotel restaurant (for breakfast and other meals) is much cosier than you typically expect in a Marriott. The down-side of this is the ceilings are somewhat low. Nevertheless, the interior of the room was otherwise what you expect from this hotel group.
The hotel is located within walking distance from the technology museum.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Free Wifi use in the public areas, but for a fee only in guestrooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We know manchester so like to avoid the hotels right in the centre. This hotel is in a great location, quietly away from the hustle. It is next to Spinningfields, which has a range of restaurants and bars. You can pick the free metro shuttle bus up here too. It is also next to Mosi and just a short walk from Deansgate. The hotel itself was really nice, very polite and helpful staff. Easy check in and valet parking of our car. Car parking is £16 per overnight stay, but you can go beyond the 24 hours. Breakfast seemed quite pricey so we went to Spinningfields instead. Rooms were clean and well presented, ours was quite large in comparison to some that we peaked in. I would definitely stay here again. We booked through the Priceline bidding website and got a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel has got to be one of the best. It was an old warehouse and many of the features of that have been left. The room was lovely spacious clean, bed was comfy. The food was good and breakfast was one of the best we have had. Would stay again wasn't cheap but it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Business Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel exudes a historical charm that appeals to business and leisure travelers. Located across from Granada Television Studios and a pleasant stroll to the Opera House and Palace Theatre, this luxury hotel in Manchester was first built as a warehouse in 1844. The £5.2 million renovation in 2005, displays the old architectural detail with contemporary flair, comfort and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.