We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the 4* stops in the entrance” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the 4* stops in the entrance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This should be a great hotel. on a quite street next to the river.. everything when staying in a hotel can be great but if you have rubbish beds dont expect a good review. our room 222 we were up all night and ended up leaving early. a park bench would of been more nicer.also the bathroom was dirty in particular the bath,, you dont want to think who stayed there the night before. and i also second the point about wifi, it isnt a luxury anymore,. you can get it anywhere for free. asda/tesco/mcdonalds/costa all do wifi for FREE

Room Tip: its £35 on checkinn to upgrade this may get you a better bed and some sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    296
    99
    42
    31
See reviews for
84
353
38
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

A great lobby and valet parking dont make a great hotel. The room was too noisy and the bathroom was quite shabby.

At the rate being charged this is unacceptable.

Also, my biggest hotel hate! £16 for wifi for 24 hrs. I can get free wifi at McDonald's for the price of a coffee but not in a £130 a night hotel. Shame on you Marriott.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Overall Excellent stay at this Marriott.

Despite the mixed reviews I gave it a try.

Its an old building but absolutely beautiful and clean.
Extremely helpful and friendly staff throughout.

Room was an executive suite, although quite small for a suite it was clean, warm and QUIET.
Bed was the best I have slept in for a loong time!
Internet fast and easy.
There were some review of a low ceiling, well its low but unless you are over 2.5 meters tall you will be ok and it actually has a charm to it, beams running across..

Lobby Bar/Lounge is huge and cozy mixed types of seating from bar chairs to sofas.

The Area is what it is, its downtown Manchester, 2minute walk to middle of Deansgate..Bars and restaurant all over the place, shopping and groceries all within a few minutes walk.

Top notch Hotel in great location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I came here for a business course. I was very impressed with the food. In the first break we were served a bagel buffet which included bagels, cream cheese, smoked salmon, pastrami. Lunch we were seated in the main dining room and had a lovely view of the cannal outside and boats going past. I had the club sandwhich and profitaroles. Everyone enjoyed their food. Later in the final break we were served fruit, brownies and shots of smoothies.

The toilets really need updating, they still have pull handles! The would not flush properly which for the hotel is poor. The actual room the course was held in could not keep to a tepid tempreture. It was either hot or cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is very poor value for money. I would have expected more from a Marriot. The toilet flush didn't work. The room was incredibly noisy due to a machine noise going off at 5am.
The food in the hotel was a rip off - 35 quid for breakfast and the lunch was very expensive at 35 quid for two meals.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel was originally two warehouses on the canal. Original features have been maintained - red brick walls, wooden beamed ceilings and pillars featured in our bedroom made it an original experience. The hotel rooms are impeccably furnished and decorated with comfortable beds, first class quality linen and plenty of pillows. The breakfast on the enclosed balcony on the hotel was excellent while we watched rowing teams burning calories on the canal. The hotel reception staff were delightful and couldn't have been more helpful. We took up the free membership of the Bannatynes health club - also worth a visit - a pool in the basement of an early 20th century building next to the opera house with original features and an art deco glass roof. All walking distance from Manchester City Centre. Great place to stay and relax. Recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked the night of 15th February for Valentines for me and my husband. My husband got delayed at work and we finally arrived at the hotel at 6.45, which was the time we had booked a table at a restaurant in the city centre. As we arrived, I joked to the concierge that I was stressed and within minutes he took our car keys to valet park the car, took our bags and offered to take them to our room, rang a taxi (we had planned to walk to restaurant but we knew we wouldn't make it) while we checked in the concierge even rang the restaurant I happened to mention in conversation and told them we would be there in 5 minutes and hold our table! The service from this man alone was outstanding and the rest of the staff were just as polite and helpful. The room was lovely, very clean and the breakfast (continental and full cooked) was lovely. The restaurant was modern and comfy and I could not fault the staff and the hotel. Had a really good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Business Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel exudes a historical charm that appeals to business and leisure travelers. Located across from Granada Television Studios and a pleasant stroll to the Opera House and Palace Theatre, this luxury hotel in Manchester was first built as a warehouse in 1844. The £5.2 million renovation in 2005, displays the old architectural detail with contemporary flair, comfort and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.