We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #39 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Goa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here last Saturday night October 6th and attended a charity ball, stayed in a lovely room with timber beams and an outlook of the canal, could not fault the room or the bathroom, the staff in the hotel were excellent from the room maids right through the breakfast staff, the bar staff and the staff who looked after us through the evening in the ballroom. The only problem was parking for the price of the rooms I think the hotel should park your car free of charge other than that it was a lovely stay. Forgot to mention the beds are far too soft.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    338
    123
    52
    34
See reviews for
96
409
39
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely hotel, loved the decor. Bathrooms could do with an update, but that was the only down side.

Quiet location for a big city, slept perfectly in a very comfy bed.
The breakfast was delicious, one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had!
Would definetley stay again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This was my second visit to the Marriott V&A, and - at least while political parties are having conferences in Manchester, it won't be the last. Major plus points for me: the rooms are larger than average, the bar is comfortable, and the hotel is set beside the canal which makes dining a pleasant experience, even if alone. The food is decent if not awe-inspiring and the staff are helpful. I'd agree that the bathrooms need an upgrade - the showers are tired and the baths are too small - but the overall decor is good enough and the building has real character. It is also within an easy walk of Manchester Central.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Marriott V&A is situated on the western edge of Manchester's city centre. Right around the corner to the SE is the Museum of Science and Industry and to the North is the sheek Spinningfields. Walking from hotel to Deansgate takes about 5-10 minutes, and another 10-15 minutes walk up North to the Manchester Arndale, a huge shopping center and area that is the retail heartbeat of the city.

The lobby was nice and inviting. We got a twin room on the 2nd floor on the river side. The hallways are indeed interesting, with dark wood and reminiscent of a Nordic or Viking vibe. Our room was pretty large, with 2 average double beds that were just OK in comfort. The carpet needs padding, and lighting was a bit dark for our taste. The bathroom was good size, with an AWESOME water pressure! We never ran out of hot water. Internet connectivity to the Wifi was strong but we didn't want to pay 15 pounds per night for internet access. We could hear our neighbors with their talking and TV and that was a bit disappointing.

Breakfast was pretty good, with a nice selection of hot entrees, breads, pastries, cereal and fruits. I recommend the hotel considering better orange juice for room for improvement. The croissants by the way were fantastic!!

I would consider staying here again but I'd probably check out other properties in the City Centre core near shops and restaurants on my future trip back to Manchester.

Room Tip: Definitely the river side is best for not hearing street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

After staying in this hotel a year or two ago my husband and I decided to return to this hotel on our last visit to Manchester. Both of us agreed we couldn't believe how much the service had gone downhill since then.

On arrival all of the car parking spaces were coned off. Last time we visited we were helped out of our car with our baggage and there was a valet service for car parking/picking up. This time we were left to park the car outside the hotel with hazard lights on and ask at reception what we were supposed to do. Car parking was charged at a daily rate of £16, which we already knew, but we were very surprised this morning to have 2 charges for car parking on our bill. After initially telling us that this charge was correct and then reiterating that we had only stayed one night, the lady on reception decided we had been overcharged and removed one of the charges from our bill.

Unfortunately, car parking wasn't the only issue we had at the reception desk. When we checked in, after finally parking our car, we were told that the room type we had booked was unavailable and would we mind having a different type. We couldn't really do anything else but agree as there appeared to be a wedding at the hotel and a number of guests in front of us seemed to be disgruntled by the rooms they had been allocated after their initial booking of another room type.

The room itself was ok, it was fairly clean, although the bath towel I picked up to use looked like it had something like mud/dust all down one side of it.

The location was good but after not being so impressed after this visit I think we'll probably look for a different hotel if we're in Manchester again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey/ New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The roofs of the rooms are small and there are columns/pillars in the room that you could bang your head into. Seriously - the hotel is a little weird almost in certain respects.
Pros - the breakfast by the water is good (your typical english breakfast)
Cons - the staff is mostly good, the odd bad/poorly trained apple. The bathroom amenities were lacking, the food from room service might have been microwaved food, in anycase it was not very good.
The hotel itself - Its a very old and charming place to many, but not to me - especially since its dark and away from any kind of street life or activity. There are many other hotels in the center of town or near the train station for lower prices which will serve one better.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I travel very rugularly and Im quite particular about the hotels I stay in and I really liked this hotel. I have stayed here 2 times and the service has been very good and attentive.

The hotel interior is very nice. It has a lot of charachter, an old building very tasetfully refurbished. The rooms are good size very clean and comfortable.

Great breakfast.

The surrounding area is great to walkabout lots of restaurants, shopping and the river.
15min walk to town center, china town etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#26 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel exudes a historical charm that appeals to business and leisure travelers. Located across from Granada Television Studios and a pleasant stroll to the Opera House and Palace Theatre, this luxury hotel in Manchester was first built as a warehouse in 1844. The £5.2 million renovation in 2005, displays the old architectural detail with contemporary flair, comfort and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Manchester Victoria & Albert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.