We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base when out in Manchester” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Great Bridgewater Street, Manchester M1 5LE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good base when out in Manchester”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Big room. Handy parking close by.

Was in Manchester for work and also needed to drive. Chose Jury's because it was right on edge of city, easy to drive to and had a good price.

Breakfast buffdr was ok but not great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    426
    214
    63
    39
See reviews for
124
286
49
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Jury Inn Manchester has a great location walking distance to all you could want in Manchester centre, we stayed her for a weekend away to do abit of shopping
We stopped for two nights Friday and Saturday, dining.
The meal was excellent but service a little slow.
The room we had was lovely.
Points to remeber if you go.
The parking accross the road is supposed to be discounted. They swipe your ticket but it doesn't work. You need to contact the car park people via the intercom on the pay station to get it discounted.
They are the only down sides other wise very clean and smart. Good staff and customer care.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Firstly, the beds were comfortable. The air-con did work fine and the shower pressure was good the only problem I had with the room itself is that the lighting was exceptionally poor making it very difficult to get ready for my night out.

One major issue I did have though, is that after our night out my partner and I were starving so we ordered a pizza and chips from the hotel kitchen to be sent to our room- The food never materialised- no explanation, nothing. I guess the guy that took my order just couldn't be bothered making it for us. Not good. Girl on reception the next morning was lovely though and suitably mortified on our behalf- although she did say someone would email me regarding this but I haven't heard anything so far.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

I am concerned to learn that you experienced issues with your bedroom lighting and food service during the evening of your stay.

So that I can investigate this further and resolve, could you please email me directly with a convenient time to give you a call.

Many thanks,

Chris Broderick
General Manager
Jurys Inn Manchester

chris_broderick@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed in a family room for 3 three adults for one night on Saturday 20th July 2013.

Hotel is lovely, very clean, breakfast was amzing and the bar was nice. It was nice that the second bed wasn't a nasty camp bed.

Only 2 cups etc. even though they knew there would be 3 adults staying, but I called down to ask for more and some more towels and within 10 mins they arrived.

Very good sleep, surprisingly quiet for such a good weekend.

I didn't know there was no parking at the hotel, my fault so we had to park at the NCP car park opposite which cost us about £15 for over 24 hours.

If you go out for the evening and get back late then make sure you all take keys as we got stopped and asked for these before getting in the lift but only 2 of us had keys.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've mistakenly booked a night in the wrong month, but the hotel refused to cancel that booking when I realised my mistake a few days later. They refused even though it was obvious that it was a genuine mistake and not just a change of mind (I showed up on the day that I thought I booked the hotel).

In addition, the staff lied to me - they claimed that it was the decision by booking.com that the reservation can't be cancelled. Only after I spoke with the customer service at booking.com (helpful, friendly) and asked the manager on duty at the hotel multiple times she confessed that it was her own, not booking.com's decision.

A good hotel would have agreed to cancel the reservation. The cancellation would have been one month in advance, and during the summer they could have easily filled the room (the hotel was booked out at the day I arrived). A hotel that needs to make its money with such tricks has probably takes short-cuts in many other ways too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was staying at this hotel for business purposes as it is close to Manchester Central (formerly GMEX). If I was visiting Manchester for any other reason I would probably pick another hotel.
I was staying at the hotel during the UK heat wave and I'm happy to say that my room had working air conditioning, but my colleagues room didn't. The staff were more than happy to change his room for him though.
I was given an accessible room which didn't really seem that accessible. The door to the room was extremely heavy and sometimes I had issues opening it myself. Once in the room there wasn't that much space to manoeuvre a wheelchair, I had to ask a colleague to move a chair into the bathroom as it was in the way. The only accessible part of the room seemed to be the bathroom. It had railings and also the emergency pull cord.

The restaurant and the bar are down stairs in the lower ground which is accessible by lift. The prices for the food were decent and they allowed us to order bar food in the restaurant instead of the restaurant menu.

When leaving your rooms make sure that the doors are fully closed, as I realised early on that you cannot just let the door swing shut as it won't close completely. You need to actually pull it shut yourself.
Coming back from a day of work and found the door to my room open. Luckily nothing had been taken from the room.

Room Tip: Ensure that you make sure the doors are completely shut before leaving your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very concerned to learn that you experience issues with your bedroom door and room set up.

Please can I assure you that security and comfort of our guests is paramount within our Hotel and is taken very seriously.

All our bedroom doors are fitted with a door closure device with the purpose to pull the door shut safely behind you. From reading your review, I can see that this was not the case and for that I am truly sorry.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss with you in more detail, so I can investigate which room you were allocated and check the performance of the door closure and room set up myself.

Could you please make contact with me by email at chris_broderick@jurysinns.com.

Kind regards

Chris Broderick
General Manager
Jurys Inn Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel three times now as it's convenient for the office that I visit in Manchester. The rooms are a decnt size and always clean and I have found the reception and bar staff to be helpful and polite. The bar prices are ok for a hotel, but I rarely go there because the pub next door (The Briton's Protection) is a gem. I haven't eaten in the restaurant other than for breakfast, which hasn't encouraged me to try the evening meal. Breakfast is the usual hotel buffet affair and you have to serve yourself with everything, drinks and cutlery included. Every time I've been it's been crowded and there doesn't seem to be enough staff to cope. Finding a seat can be problematic and they always seem to have run out of some dishes - particularly the fruit salad. The hotel always offers a good rate and overall it is good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Trip advisor,

Thank you for writing your recent review.

My apologies for the poor level of service you received during breakfast. This is an area which my management team are currently reviewing as we continue to look at new ways in which we can improve our service and guest experience.

With this in mind, I would find it very beneficial to speak with you and discuss in more detail. Could you please contact me by email with a convenient time and telephone number to reach you.

Kind regards

Chris Broderick
General Manager
Jurys Inn Manchester

chris_broderick@juryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre

Address: 56 Great Bridgewater Street, Manchester M1 5LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
#32 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre has an ideal city centre location suitable for both business and leisure guests. The hotel is less than 10 minute walk from both Deansgate and Manchester Oxford Road stations and is surrounded by a range of fantastic bars and restaurants. Our business guests visiting Manchester Central Convention Centre will be pleased to know that the hotel is just behind the corner from the venue. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Manchester Central NCP which is only 3 minute walk from the hotel. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Manchester at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, JurysInn, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Manchester Hotel Manchester
Jurys Hotel Manchester
Manchester Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.