We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Great Bridgewater Street, Manchester M1 5LE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I reiterate Tonyswords endorsement of this hotel in relation to location for Bridgewater Hall,the reception area,the rooms,except ours (217) was not well laid out- see later) and the lighting in the room which was not only poor but switches were inconveviently placed. No switch for the bathroom so the light had to stay on all night in there. The only light switches for the 'main ' light were on one side of the bed, which had a restricted access due to the position of the bed and the fixed wardrobe, and beside the door down a corridor and around a corner from the bed. The room itself ,despite the inconvenient layout, was a good size with a sofa and the bathroom was okay. The rating does not reflect the comfort but the layout and the lighting which which my partner was not impressed when trying to fix her makeup.
The breakfast was good with a reasonable selection for most tastes.Nice coffee too .They quickly refilled the various trays when contents were running low esp the hot food.
Secure car parking ( additional charge) is available just across the street and cheaper than the exposed NCP next door.
Overall the hotel provided good value for an overnight stay in a city centre location .

Room Tip: Room 217 is a corner room overlooking the stage door of the Bridgewater Hall. See description above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    432
    214
    63
    40
See reviews for
126
296
51
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stopped at this hotel for 1 night it's perfect location for empire theatre although bit of walk for main shopping area . On arrival the staff were very friendly and very helpfull showing on map main areas for Xmas markets .the room was fine plenty of room adequate for 1 night stay also had breakfast which was good but little chaotic on sun morn but plenty of choice all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Manchester would definitely stop in this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecambe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here on Monday 12th November 2012 to see a concert in Bridgewater Hall. We stay on a regualr basis in Manchester and thought we would give Jury's Inn a try as it was opposite Bridewater Hall.
Room disappointing - very small.
Breakfast chaotic - not enough tables for the amount of guests , tables not cleared. Breakfast items were cleared away at 09.00am without any explanation. Group of American tourists standing looking bemused as breakfast was due to finish at 10.30am. Apparently they were refreshing the food. Food appeared 10 minutes later .Slightly awkward when I had already got my breakfast and my wife didn't have hers. This happened to other couples we were sat near. Mentioned this at check out but was met with the standard 'Was everything alright with your stay'. When I said service at breakfast was poor I didn't get any response. Asked for a compliments / complaints form and was handed a piece of blank paper with the receptionist apologising for it not having any lines on it.
We are not moaners, maybe just a bad day when they were obviously short staffed in the dining room. Far short of the service I would have expected from a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Morecambeshrimp,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Jurys Inn Manchester.

I am very disappointed to learn of your experience, please can you contact me directly to give me a chance to resolve the matter and restore your faith in Jurys Inns.

Kind regards

Chris Broderick
General Manager
Jurys Inn Manchester

chris_broderick@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The jurys inn was perfect location for the concert we were visiting for at the Bridgewater hall which is located right next door.

The Hotel is stark in design. Nothing warm or inviting about the reception area , you get the impression its designed for ease of use & short stay guests .
Rooms were very clean & well laid out but could have done with some main lighting instead if just lamps as the lighting at night is very subtle which was difficult when trying to get ready to go out .
We returned after the show to the hotel bar which doesnt hold much atmosphere and the bar person really didnt want to be there you could tell . They had ran out of most things we asked for & he couldnt care less . No lemon/Lime for coke or G&T or Corona - No draught Budd.
We just had the 1 & retired for the night .
Breakfast was very good & the staff also very chirpy & helpfull . Would stay again if visiting Bridgewater hall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The front desk and restaurant staff were very courteous and welcoming; one of the bartenders was very rude when I ordered my dinner, which was tray service, as they don't offer room service. I ordered ravioli with chicken in a cream sauce for dinner, which was the worst I've had at a restaurant - no seasoning at all, and the sauce seemed to be cream with a dash of white wine, not even salt or pepper. My partner is the head chef at a popular restaurant in Scotland, so I think my assessment is fairly well-informed. Breakfast was fine, a full English plus bagels, cereal, fruit, croissants, etc, and what I'd expect from a chain. The room was very clean and spacious, but I'd paid for the internet service (they only have WIFI in the restaurant, which was too busy to work in), and it kept disconnecting every couple of minutes until I gave up. My room overlooked the canal and was very quiet. The hotel is very central and easy to get to from the train or by taxi from the airport.

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor overlooking the canal, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Brawmaw,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review for Jurys Inn Manchester.

We strive to ensure that all of our guests receive friendly, efficient service in comfortable surroundings. It is clear from reading your review that our bar service and evening meal did not meet these standards. Please accept my sincere apologies for the matter as a whole and thank you for bringing this to my attention.

I will now carry out a thorough investigation of the issues raised in your review at our next management meeting, so we can review these against our desired performance and agree what necessary steps are required to exceed standards these going forward.

I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Jurys Inn Manchester, as I am confident that you will notice a marked improvement.

When you are making your next reservation, please feel free to contact me directly so I can personally ensure you have an enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards

Chris Broderick
General Manager
Jurys Inn Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

On arriving we refused first two rooms and settled for the third. The room was clean and we had fresh towels every day. Breakfast was good and the resturant was busy. Location was ok handy for buses, trains and trams. Besides the hotel bar there were other bars ar Deansgate Locks. THe city centre was a short walk away. The Brigewater hall and Manchester Central were just accross the street. Would definately visit again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel - it was greAt, room has a good finish to it and the bed was comfortable. It's a short 10-12 min walk from Piccadilly station or 2 min away from deangate tram station. Breakfast was reasonable as well!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysGM, General Manager at Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Londonhaks,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted that you mentioned the standard of the hotel bedroom and comfortable bed, as we believe this is an important part of the overall guest experience.

Please contact me direct when you are returning as I would be delighted to assist with your next reservation.

Kind regards,

Chris Broderick
General Manager
Jurys Inn Manchester

chris_broderick@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre

Address: 56 Great Bridgewater Street, Manchester M1 5LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#32 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre has an ideal city centre location suitable for both business and leisure guests. The hotel is less than 10 minute walk from both Deansgate and Manchester Oxford Road stations and is surrounded by a range of fantastic bars and restaurants. Our business guests visiting Manchester Central Convention Centre will be pleased to know that the hotel is just behind the corner from the venue. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Manchester Central NCP which is only 3 minute walk from the hotel. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Manchester at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, JurysInn, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Manchester Hotel Manchester
Jurys Hotel Manchester
Manchester Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.