We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1847 City Centre - Bistro & Bar

1847 City Centre - Bistro & Bar
58 Mosley Street | (Entrance on Booth Street), Manchester, England
+44 161 236 1811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 1,640 restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $27 - $62
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Entrance on Booth Street
Transit: Tram Stops: Mosley St or St Peters Square
Description: Manchester city centres only Vegetarian restaurant, open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner (closed Sunday evening). Our kitchen is headed by Alex Claridge with menus inspired by British classics with a twist. Why not join us for our monthly Jazz night?
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Okay, we did all order the same dish, but the idea of serving fish & chips with halloumi replacing the fish (which we first encountered in Terre a Terre, Brighton) is growing in popularity and rightly so.
Here, though there's a twist: you can order smoked tofu in place of the cheese! So that's what I did, with the other two going for the halloumi.
It was fabulous, (if that doesn't sound too luvvie). The hand-cut chips and mushy peas set it all off very well, and the (early Sunday lunch) service was quick enough for our busy schedule.
Well impressed, and we'll be back!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    222
    108
    36
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“New Chef, New Menu, same great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was the 5th Visit to 1847 the last 4 visits over the last 2 years having the exact same menu (So its really about time it was changed) waiting staff as always really helpful and a pleasure to deal with. New and varied menu , really great presentation and full of flavour, Im going back again on Friday to try some more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average vegetarian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We visited the restaurant on a Saturday afternoon, it was very quiet and we were a fairly large table of 6.

As we had a 50% off voucher we all ordered the two course menu. The presentation of the starters was fab however the food lacked flavour and was all very bland. Once we finished the starters we had to wait quite a while before the waiter took our plates, it was then a considerable amount of time (over 20 minutes) before we received our main course, after prompting the waiter!! During this time the experience was very unpleasant as the restaurant was freezing cold.

However the mains were much better than the starters. The beer battered halloumi was delicious as was the sunday roast, however the hen's egg was overdescribed on the menu & was nothing more than a normal scotch egg!

I wouldnt have been happy to pay full price for this meal & probably would not go back, but witjh the 50% the main dishes were a good experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the lack of meat put you off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

When told where I was going to dine a friend replied "what, do you just take your own meat?". I can assure you that you don't need to. Every taste and texture combination on the plate put down in front of me tasted like it had been meticulously planned and executed. As a meat eater there was nothing I was left wanting for.

The food is at such a high standard without being pretentious which I'm sorry to say shows the casual approach to service up a little. A few steps away from being a 5 star establishment but don't let this put you off as once some slight creases are ironed it may be hard to get a table!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lunch today”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a superb three course lunch today....imaginative, beautifully presented, great mix of flavours, evrything perfectly cooked. Fine service. Can't recommend highly enough.FRankiphile's review is unfair.....we had the same starter and had three slices of bread each....I assume s/he was sharing a starter. And deserts were quite superb

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1847 City Centre - Bistro & Bar also viewed

Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to 1847 City Centre - Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1847 City Centre - Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.