We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popped in for a couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester

Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester
Unit 3 | The Printworks, Manchester M4 2BS, England
0161 835 1210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Waxy O'Connors is located in the heart of Manchester's vibrant city centre within The Printworks entertainment complex. Waxy's is regarded as a unique venue with a labyrinth of 3 bars, covering 4 levels and 9 separate areas that are all linked by a maze of staircases & passages.The interior decor features church like timber carvings, stained glass windows & distinctive tiled floors, but most unusual is a 250 year old tree! The Waxy's tree was brought over from Ireland in 2002 and is now at the heart of the pub stretching from the back of Church Bar right up to the Sofa Gallery on the fourth level. A sight you cannot miss on arrival!Waxy's is renowned for creating hearty Irish influenced food, with it's signature dishes being Irish Stew, Clonakilty Black Pudding with Cabbage & Bacon & Stuffed Chicken (a chicken supreme filled with Irish cheddar & Ballymaloe Relish, wrapped in bacon & served on mash with a chive cream sauce)!....and of course you can't beat the All Day Irish Breakfast with black & white pudding! The Bar is well stocked with all the big names and a well selected wine list compliments the menu. The Guinness & Irish Coffee are both Fantastic!Whether you are after somewhere to enjoy a chat over a glass of wine, a bite to eat whilst shopping, a welcome lunch break or an after work get together, a place to cheer on your team or you just want to dance and laugh the night away WE HAVE IT ALL AT WAXY'S!!
Preston Lancashire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Popped in for a couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We popped in during a saturday visit to the Christmas markets (it was too busy!) Had a couple of cheeky beers. The atmosphere, surroundings and service were all hard to beat. All the little areas which add to the ambience. The food looked good wished we'd have eaten here, instead of having a disappointing lunch in another venue at the Printworks (it serves Bratwurst!)
Enjoyed our visit will be back to have something to eat and drink next time we are passing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riki B, General Manager at Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review! Delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Waxys! Hope fully next time you will get the chance to sample the menu! Cheers Riki GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Brill night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Came here earlier on the year and enjoyed it so decided to come again with friends for a work do last night. I ordered the same as last time, steak and Guinness pie. Best food ever! We did have one complaint which was handled well by a member of staff. But apart from that. As good as last time. The lady that served us all night (young blond curly hair) credit to waxys. So polite, always had a smile made our night better. Overall will continue to visit and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riki B, General Manager at Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for you review Sophie, great to hear that we have been consistently delivering great food & good service! I will let Sarah know what a great job she did looking after you all! Thanks again and hope to see you soon! Riki Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant food, brilliant atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Came here for a birthday meal with my parents, service was friendly and menu has a large selection! I ordered the steak and Guinness pie, and I can safely say it was the best pie I've ever had in a restaurant, loads of meat, gorgeous gravy and well cooked mash and veg to go with! The only problem with our visit was that my dad asked for no mayo on his burger but after a few bites realised there was in fact mayo on there! We complained but unfortunately the chef had already gone home, so had to make do with some chips and a few forkfuls of our meals! We were refunded, but could have been easily avoided!
Overall, good was delicious, but silly mistake by either waiting on staff or kitchen staff did spoil it a bit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riki B, General Manager at Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments Katy, delighted to hear that you loved the atmosphere & food!

Really sorry that there was an error made with your order! I hope this didn't spoil the occasion for

you, thanks again for your positive comments. Riki GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sth Yorks
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pre MEN gig visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lovely pub with an authentic Irish feel to it. Busy with a good choice if music and nice food. Printworks is a great venue and obviously close to the arena.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riki B, General Manager at Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanks for your very positive review! Really pleased that you enjoyed the busy & buzzing atmosphere at Waxys! Cheers Riki GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

An amazing place for any occasion the place has a great atmosphere, been ere many times with intentions of going to a club but stayed till closing absolutely buzzing place, dj fab bar staff very friendly everyone happy!
I dont like sport but the atmosphere when its on is brill!
your all doin a fab job..im back Saturday whoooooooo!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riki B, General Manager at Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are really pleased you enjoy your visits to Waxys
and that the staff play a big part in creating an awesome atmosphere! We have a great team and its always nice to hear people comment on this! Thanks Riki GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waxy O'Connor's - Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.