We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I NEED to clarify regarding The Rembrandt!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of REM Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added REM Hotel to your Saves list
REM Hotel
33 Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3LZ, England (Formerly The Rembrandt Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Virginia Beach, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I NEED to clarify regarding The Rembrandt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My very positive review was for the Rembrandt Hotel in LONDON!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    6
    15
    35
See reviews for
Families
0
30
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

i had the pleasure of staying here before , as all hotels were fully booked and thought it was ok untill i go into the room . Think i should of gone to strange ways for the night for sure prison would be much nicer place to stay . and you get your own toilet aswell .
very dirty also the bathroom i had to share was awfull aswell. I do not understand both gay hotels in manchester this place and the new union are just a disgrace

Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I have stayed before and the place was terrible. It has been bought over and the new owners have cleaned the place up , refurbished it and it is now brilliant. for the location it is well worth the money and the rooms are spotless

beds are all new with comfy covers etc. even the noice from the bar downstairs is not thatr bad! lerts face it your booking this hotel to be close to nightlife!!!

breakfast are out of this world!!!

welcome back rem - the scene has been missing you!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

it should be on rogue traders if that was your bedroom at home you wouldnt stay in it a disgrace everything unclean dont stay here you would get a disease

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephscanlon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I really felt that paying £50 for this room was a total waste of money. Who do you think you are? It's an insult to charge for such a disgusting room. AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAGUE

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funkybiatch77130
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Nothing speacial at all, booked this hotel last minute as were going to a concert at the MEN in Manchester. We stayed mid week.

The location of the hotel is above a pub so you check in there and go up to your room.

The rooms are old and in need of renovation, the safe did not work. The beds were on their last legs.

It was very basic and just a place to rest our heads for the travel the next day. The bedding and towels were clean but over starched so were a little rough.

The bathroom is shared so you have to come out of your room to use the toilet and shower however you have a basin sink in your room with tea making facilities.

The location of the hotel is great as there were plenty of bars and clubs in the area.

It wasn't so bad that I would never go there again if I had to but it would not be a first choice.

The breakfast the next day was nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

I stayed at this flea pit for a night , I was supposed to stay for three but it was so bad I could not possible put myself through another 2 nights. The room was disgusting, supposed to be superior ( would hate to see the standard rooms) disgusting dirty shared toilet and bathroom,pubic hairs in the bedding. faulty wiring and no window. Bet the inmates in Strangeways have better conditions.
The breakfast was pure slops a plate of economy tinned tomatoes with the cheapest of bacon and sausages not properly defosted.Tea and Coffee facilities were disgusting, chipped cups and saucers and tea stained spoons.
I complained at the check in which is in the main bar down stairs and was told by some untidy rude barman that if I didnt like it get out and that with having paid in full I would not get a refund. I asked to see the owner and when I spoke to him (an old man in his 70s with grey hair and moustache) I was told that no refund was possible.
I got a room at the Ibis hotel less than a 100 yards from this horrific hovel for less money and clean beds and comfort.
This dirty place should be closed down.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to REM Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about REM Hotel

Address: 33 Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3LZ, England (Formerly The Rembrandt Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under brand new ownership, the REM Hotel has been completely modernized and renovated.Not to be mistaking with Lowry Annexe hotel which was formally owned by the previous owner and no longer operates. We can now offer 6 modern double rooms (2 with showers) in the heart of the Gay Village in Central Manchester. The hotel is open to all. Prices quoted are per room and include a full English breakfast and free wifi. The venue also includes 2 bars. The REM Bar is situated on the ground floor and is aimed at the gay men's market. Dark, modern, cruisy with a friendly team. On the first floor we also offer our lounge and showbar which is open to all with regular karaoke, live shows and a party atmosphere. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your REM Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Rembrandt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage REM Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.