We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but the rest is poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coriander

Coriander
485 Barlow Moor Road | Chorlton Cum Hardy, Manchester M21 8AG, England (Chorlton)
0161 881 7750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #636 of 1,825 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chorlton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food but the rest is poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited the new Chorlton restaurant last weekend. It was very busy so we did appreciate them finding a table for us, but I do regret taking the table they 'found'. The tables are really crammed in and out table for 2 was less than a foot away from 2 tables of 4 on each side. The waiters had to turn sideways to get past. Also, because they have crammed so many tables in, the place was so hot - and that's before we'd eaten. Not pleasant.

After initially giving us some papadums and drinks, I had to go up to the bar to get someone to take our order, as they had forgotten about us for a good 20 mins.

When the food did finally arrive it was great and the menu is one of the best I've seen, but the whole experience has meant I'll be in no rush to return.

It might also be personal taste, but I really disliked the lighting which goes from blue, to red to green to yellow etc etc. It's just tacky and every time I looked up my fiancee had changed colour!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    30
    18
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Coriander - living up to a truism”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

They say that you can do things well, you can do them quickly, and you can do them cheaply. But, you can only pick two of these things at a time.

Coriander is no exception. The food was tasty, healthy and beautifully presented. The bill was really very reasonable - it came to just over £10 per person and we were full when we left.

However, I do have to echo other comments about the speed (or lack thereof) of the service. We waited 55 minutes for four main courses, which left us sitting there starving. There were only two or three other parties in the restaurant - it wasn't busy at all - so we ended up hungry and a bit frustrated.

We would go back, but we'd actually consider ordering our food over the phone before setting out - just to save us another tummy-rumbling evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible service, good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We called to order takeaway from the new Barlow Moor Road branch. They spent 5 minutes trying to understand us and then told us that takeaway can only be ordered in person, which defeats the purpose of take-away.

Coriander, please sort this out and ideally sort out a delivery service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“All hype no spice.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went on a Saturday night looking forward to a nice meal. Walked in and the waiter pointed at our table no greeting what so ever!.Then he came back with menus(which were thrown at us!) Orderd rice which was burnt and so salty . The lamb corriander special was like a birds eye ready meal curry, the chicken was a tiny portion and the saag paneer was in a thimble size pot.

Save your self a journey and go to another venue !!.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited on Monday evening for the first time and will definitely return. Really enjoyed the food especially the venison dish that we had. The service was great too friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coriander also viewed

Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester
Withington, Cotswolds
 
Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Coriander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coriander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.