We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a group booking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alchemist

The Alchemist
3 Hardman Street | Spinningfields, Manchester M3 3HF, England
0161 817 2950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #226 of 1,709 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good for a group booking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked for 7, had to increase to 14 and then only 12 of us turned up but non of this caused any problems.

Enough variation on the menu for everyone to be happy with. Food was of good quality and reasonably price.

Staff were generally ok but seemed to lose a bit of interest in our group towards the end of the evening.

would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    207
    66
    27
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing cocktails and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My partner and I visited this restaurant last night as we were staying overnight in Manchester. We arrived early and, although the bar and restaurant were extremely busy, the brilliantly efficient lady on the door managed to sort us out with a table. We tried some absolutely brilliant and completely different and unusual cocktails. Our meals definitely had the wow factor and came very well decorated! Staff were very attentive and eager to recommend things for us. The atmosphere was great, very vibrant! We would definitely return next time we are in Manchester.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oh Dear!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went to The Alchemist on Friday 14th February for a late lunch having had a great time there 10months previously. Walked in wearing our beanie hats and flat shoes as the weather was extremely windy and wet, and asked for a table for two. Although the restaurant area was half full we were told to return in 1hr 40mins for a table as they had no tables, they didn't even take our names! Did we return, NO! We did however have an excellent meal with excellent service at San Carlo, King St West, who didn't mind our attire at all, and the food was amazing. Will I go to the Alchemist again NO, will I recommend NO. Will I go to San Carlo again 100%.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere and drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

As we live 5 minutes away from manchester town centre, we regularly come into town. Alchemist has got to be one of the best bars in Manchester and the atmosphere in the week and especially the weekend is amazing. The drinks are great and the staff are lovely, always willing to help. I would definitely recommend visiting it , especially at Christmas , when one can sit outside with the heaters and go ice skating virtually opposite. Definitely a 10/10

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, friendly staff and lovely drinks and nibbles..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I visited here with a friend and I was not disappointed. It was very busy and they did not have any tables in the restaurant available as they were fully booked, however after being served at the bar by a lovely bartender who helped us make some good cocktail choices they found us in the bar as they had a cancellation so we got a table.

Its not a large place but it has seating outside and has a lovely feel inside of a querky, exotic laboratory. Only way to explain the mad but tasty cocktails (I wanted to go through the whole menu). We had a sharing platter and nibbles which were absolutely mouthwatering.

The staff were very attentive, and overall a amazing evening. I cannot wait to return to this place especially for the Martinis...too die for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alchemist also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Alchemist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alchemist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.