We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only large venue in Manchester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phones 4u Arena

Phones 4u Arena
Victoria Station, Manchester M3 1AR, England (Formerly Nynex Arena)
+44 161 950 5000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 120 attractions in Manchester
Type: Civic Centers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Phones 4u Arena Manchester, managed and operated by SMG Europe, is one of the busiest venues in the world and the largest indoor arena in Europe. Since opening in 1995, the Arena (formerly The Manchester Evening News Arena) has hosted the biggest names in live entertainment including U2, The Rolling Stones, Madonna, Lady Gaga, Pavarotti and the record-breaking 2010/2011 residency by local comedian Peter Kay. In addition to live music, we've also staged some of the biggest events in the UK sporting calendar including several 2002 Commonwealth Games' events, the 2012 Olympic basketball warm-up match between team USA and GB, the 2008 FINA World Swimming Championships and international boxing bouts by Mike Tyson, David Haye, Joe Calzaghe and local champions Ricky Hatton and Amir Khan. We've also played a key part in Manchester's rich musical heritage with historic shows by local bands Take That, Oasis, Elbow, New Order, James, Happy Mondays, The Charlatans, Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds, M People, Doves, The Inspiral Carpets, The Verve, Simply Red and The Courteeners. Attracting over one million visitors each year, the 21,000 capacity Arena is a former winner of the industry's prestigious International Venue of the Year award.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The only large venue in Manchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is the only place that can accommodate acts who have a very large following. You need to allow lots of time to park if driving and also when leaving.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    283
    163
    67
    74
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Need to watch the screen to see the acts on stage.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The areana is so large you can only see the acts on screens so you may be better watching the TV as it is a better picture. Also there is no hand rails to help you get up and down the very steep steps in the seating areas. Not worth the prices they charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A good venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have been to quite a few concerts here and always enjoyed myself. I have sat in different parts of the arena and always had a good view. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Brilliant view even from the side! They do say you can't bring any bottles in just incase you how them at the stage but yet the sell glass bottles inside, the sound was amazing. I was located in block 216 row m and the only problems are the steep steps, the fact that if someone needs to leave their seat you have to get up so they can pass by and there is a bar which can restrict your view. I don't know if that is there for all the events or just for that one. Bag searches are at the front before you go in but weirdly enough they don't check merch bags. You need a gold mine to buy food, drinks and merchandise, I went to see P!nk and I think it was £60 for a hoodie and £25 for a tour book. Staff when I went where nice and friendly. I don't suggest standing on the floor as when P!nk came on I saw the whole standing area surge forward, wearing high heels because if you are planning to have a pint or two the stairs will take you for shock! I also suggest leaving early it may mean you miss the last couple of songs but then you don't get caught in the thousands of people leaving the building and there is no chance of missing the last train. It will be a lot better when the Leeds arena opens.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“clapton gig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

1st time to see clapton,best present ever from my kids,brilliant,the areana it,s self ,very good venue,only down side ,when entering on street level you then have to go down about 100 steps to get to the floor level for the show,as wife does,nt like heights etc this was an obsticle.staff couldn,t have been more helpfull,escorted her down making sure she was ok.very impressed with this.drinks another down on this venue,can of john smiths £4. each only had the 1

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phones 4u Arena also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Phones 4u Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phones 4u Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Phones 4u Arena to your Saves list