We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No major faults, nothing exciting!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Manchester to your Saves list
Malmaison Manchester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
A TripAdvisor Member
“No major faults, nothing exciting!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2006

Plus points:

The hotel staff were very helpful, the waiting staff in the bar and brasserie were very friendly, this was especially welcome as I was staying alone on a business trip. The food was good, the prices were reasonable.

Location is great - right next to Piccadilly station.

Trendy design of the reception area/lobby.

Large bottles of nice smelling body lotion and shower gel which you are encouraged to take home with you.

Radio on when entering room upon arrival - nice touch.

Negatives:

Decor in the room was fine, there are some nice touches but the basic things let the room down, the wardrobe doors are naff and so was the travel kettle.

TINY television - I've never seen such a small tv!!

Really hard bed - although that's obviously down to personal taste.

Minimal products in the bathroom - no spare toothpaste/hair conditioner/cotton wool etc.

Bathroom very basic - shower fixed position so hard to keep your hair dry if not intending to wash it! Decor in the bathroom was a bit odd - a strange mixture of natural colours and stark black and white. A little bit tired looking - discoloured grouting and the toilet flush broke and came out of the wall!

It just didn't seem as special as they want you to think it is -although I got a good rate at £99 for the night, the next time I'll try the Alias!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    445
    213
    99
    71
See reviews for
52
501
52
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
337 helpful votes 337 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2006

This hotel was had some very harsh reviews on this siet that were unfair given our experience. We were only staying for one night but the staff were v friendly & gave us early check in on request. We walked into our room to the sounds of Classic FM & the CD player was a nice touch, The room wasn't huge but was certainly big enough with a nice view & the bathroom was great. Our room was spotless too & the bed extermely comfortable. For only £89 a night it was very good value - I'm not sure why others on this site played so much, try booking through the internet next time! The only problem was the very expensive minibar but you get that anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2005

Youll pay through the nose here for what ?
This place is not, currently, value for money.For the same price more awaits at any one of the top 10 hotels here, which is a shame because the Mal was the bollocks 5 years ago, now its just dark and seedy.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2005

I stayed at Mal Maison seen as there was nothing else avalible in the city at the time

I would not recommend this hotel at all, the decor is very changing rooms, and somewhat falling apart the carpets in the rooms the carpets in the hallways are terrible there are marks on the walls everywhere like they all need painting, and the room, well one of the smallest rooms i have ever stayed in, and i paid £135.00!! i wished i could have walked out and not paid for the room

The staff are not focused at all and the check in was done in somewhat robotic fashion and all the staff seemed to be moody!

It was a very beautiful summers day outside although in the reception area the door was broken, there was almost no light like some kind of gothic place and no light in the rooms all small windows to go with the small rooms

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2005

I chose Malmaison because I wanted a bit of a treat and was therefore happy to shell out the £135 on a luxury experience. Unfortunately I got a room which was decidedly motel standard instead.

The room (a double) was very small (although the bathroom was huge and fancy) and the wardrobe was more of a storage space then somewhere to hang clothes.

Take my advice, choose somewhere £50 cheaper and you'll get the same experience. The perks aren't worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

I stayed here on a wet windy December night and this hotel managed to raise my spirits!

Although there was some difficulty finding our booking (although we had only made it on-line 30 mins previously so they are forgiven!) the staff were friendly and welcoming at all times, and even told us how much they enjoy their jobs!

Our room was lovely and the bathroom fabulous. I love the way classic fm is always on when you arrive in the room, and the room was clean, stylish, and the bed was huge and extremely comfortable.

All the public areas are lovely and we decided to eat in the restaurant. Our meal was great and the restaurant staff attentive without being in your way.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway or even if you just need to stay for business.

We've always enjoyed our stays at Malmasion hotels and late checkout at 12 is always appreciated!

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2005

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday and although the price is high the hotel is ideally located opposite the train station and close to the very centre found the decor and the rooms to be very high standard. Just a shame the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
#40 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Malmaison Manchester 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.