We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Manchester to your Saves list
Malmaison Manchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stylish hotel in heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in the Malmaison hotel in Manchester on Saturday for the second time. The hotel is incredibly stylish and modern from the reception area to the hotel bar and rooms. The lighting and furniture create a French boudoir feel throughout. We found the staff very friendly. The hotel over allocated the standard rooms and upgraded us to a superior double free of charge. The view from our room could have been better as we were on a side street facing another building however it did not spoil our stay whatsoever. The breakfast was delicious. Lots of fresh fruit, cereals and freshly made croissants and a good choice of hot breakfast. We will definitely come back and stay soon. Lovely hotel and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    496
    237
    116
    73
See reviews for
61
582
54
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Malmaison Hotel in Manchester on a Friday night. Great location for the train station (just a couple of minutes walk away) and also not far from all the night life. We were able to walk to the Northern Quarter in about 10 minutes for a good night out in the bars/clubs.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were given a free upgrade to an executive room, which was a lovely welcome. The room was spacious and decorated to a ver high standard with great character. Black and white decor. The bathroom was lovely with nice complimentary toiletries. Also, very importantly, the hotel was clean throughout.

We didn't eat in the restuarant but we did have cocktails at the bar, which were expensive but very nice indeed. Friendly service.

We booked the hotel through laterooms and so we got a very good deal. I'd definitely stay here again, no doubt about it! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Hotel was pretty much as expected. Good staff, friendly and great facilities. The breakfast and cocktails were excellent as well as being offered complimentary canapés on the Saturday.

I would say I thought the interiors were a bit tired in places. Also our room was facing a large illuminated billboard on the other side of the street and although the curtains were blackout there was gaps which was a bit disturbing in the night.

The sound proofing could have been better, noise of people coughing next door, and plug sockets being pushed in etc but still a nice hotel on a convenient location. Would I stay again, yes, but the premier inn opposite would probably do just a good night's sleep for half the cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

First stay at a Malmaison (have stayed at sister Hotel de Vin) and will certainly search them out in the future. Upgraded room was still good value. Comfortable bed, great facilities and attentive staff. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed overnight to attend the CIH Housing Conference - lovely clean rooms, with good air conditioning, and lots of extras - bed was comfortable as were their pillows, shower was fab and their towels were huge & fluffy. The mini bar was well stocked, iron & hair dryer provided and the complimentary toiletries were full sized and nice which is unusual. Had a great nights sleep and breakfast was very pleasant the next day - would def recommend for couples, friends or business trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Fortchy

Thank you so much for your recent review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and hope we may welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here recently for my birthday, I was immedaitely impressed by the hotel, I have stayed in 100's of hotels and this is by far my favourite.
The reception was dark and dramatic which I thought really suited the venue.Check in was painless and very quick.
The bar area is very bubbly and lively but not overly noisy, it had a nice atmosphere. The cocktails were gorgeous.

We lookeda round the conference rooms which were lovely along with the private dining areas and the restaurant.

Our room was the Romeo & Juliet suite, it was stunning, it was very spacious and luxurious. The lighting is fantastic and there are lights all around the mirror, perfect for doing your make up.
The bathroom has a very powerful walk in shower and the hotel toiletries are lovely, especially the fig oil.
In the room itself there is a hugh sunken bath, it takes about 30 minutes to fill but it more than worth it.
The living area has comfortable chairs/sofas and the sound system in the room is fantastic, along with their 50inch smart tv.
The bedroom is spacious and has a 4 poster bed, a nice touch is the bathrobe and slippers.

The only thing that I felt let the hotel down was breakfast, we went for the Mal Breakfast which was a cooked breakfast, the sausage tasted a little cheap and I wasn't overly impressed with it. There are other options available but I always feel a hot breakfast buffet is the way forward.

I would stay again, the location is fantastic and it's within walking distance to shops, bars and the local car park.

Room Tip: Go for the Romeo and Juliet room, well worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here in June for 1 night and found the hotel staff exceptional, room great and restaurant lovely.
All of the staff we encountered were professional, friendly and went above and beyond for the customers. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We loved our suite (308) and would definitely book it again.
Our evening meals in the restaurant were great, we both had steak and they were both cooked perfectly.
The only reason I am not given this hotel a 5 / 5 rating ( I would give 4.5 / 5 if I could) is because for the price of the breakfast (about £16) it wasn't exceptional. I found the tea really weak, bacon fatty and scrambled eggs dry.
But I'd still definitely stay here again and think my breakfast was far from their normal service - just one of those things.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Manchester

Address: Gore Street | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#23 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Business Hotel in Manchester
#37 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mal Manchester: In the home of the beautiful game you're about to turn Moulin Rouge. A short trundle for wheel-based luggage from Piccadilly Station and you're at the Mal - somewhere in the mists between Paris and the 24-hour party city. You cross the chessboard reception and suddenly you're a king for the knight. It's your move. Smoak Bar and Grill at Mal Manchester: A grill room and bar quite unlike anything Manchester has ever before seen. Set in the award-winning Malmaison Hotel minutes from Piccadilly station, Smoak is total indulgence for the senses. The amazing aroma of nation's finest oak-smoked steaks and fresh fish, served to a pewter counter or cosy booth. Imagine great imported beers, cocktails and bubbly served from an unusual sunken bar, with highly skilled mixologists serving you while you stay seated. Picture a stylish relaxed but chic interior a mix of booths, banquettes and counter stools. Come lunchtime and it's locally sourced bread, generously filled sandwiches and salads or full blown grill dining for the more adventurous lunchtime escapee. Come sundown the mood changes and we turn the aromas up to eleven. The cocktails flow, the steaks sizzle, the music turns up and the night begins. Ember Lounge at Mal Manchester: We could tell you about the Ember Lounge - an immaculate and opulent cocktail bar furtively hidden to the rear of the Smoak Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Manchester Hotel Manchester
Malmaison Hotel Manchester
Manchester Malmaison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.